[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
GREAT MEDIC IDEA!  XML
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Go to Page: 1, 2 Next 
Author Message
Shadow-X

Rampage

Joined: 01/22/2006 13:46:46
Messages: 114
Offline

O.k. dru here me out...I don't know how hard this would be to code.Well what im getting at here is how about all medics have a CROSS on the radar so people can find us when they yell out medic.Probly wondering how would i code so the game would think this guy is a medic.Well i thought about that too.Once they make there medic weapon witch is a 6 of infity then the cross would pop up on the radar.Now like i said i don't know how hard this would be to code since im no coder here...But it can't be that hard since all the pets are a different color on the radar.Tell me what yall think
TIMMY

Killing Spree
[Avatar]

Joined: 05/30/2006 15:07:54
Messages: 91
Offline

Thats actually very useful..........it could work both ways too.....non-medic ppl would see a cross on their radar so that they'll know where the medics are and the medic would see a cross on their radar for anyone who says 'MEDIC!' in the command option. This would make it easier to get healed and for the medics to heal teammates. But would this be a skill that we would have to purchase or just an innate medic ability?

TIMMY - LW character
TIMMY_MD - LM character
TIMMY_LA - LA character
UntamedSub

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 11/07/2005 10:47:40
Messages: 637
Location: Florida
Offline

Someone also mentioned possibly having or being able to purchase an ability as a medic to have awareness on fellow players, like they do for monsters, to see if they needed health from a bit further away.

A True Friend Stabs You In The Front!

"It's all paranormal man, it's a mystery." - Jason Hawes

http://www.the-atlantic-paranormal-society.com/
[Email] [WWW] [Yahoo!]
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

I once thought about (a long while ago) putting an overlay on players that ranged from green to red based upon their current health. I think it would be easier than having to look at a bar or read some numbers.

As well as medics being a cross on the radar, it's been mentioned that it would be sueful for Medics to have a big cross above their heads (looks like a red 'Health Pack +25').

My two cents.
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

I have a rewritten RPGHUDInvasion.uc that, while it doesn't make medics show up as crosses on radar, *does* make them a pretty bright Aqua color (rather than the default blue).

Now that I know what I'm doing, I probably could make them show up as a different icon fairly easily - but I need help finding something that DrawTile will accept and will still look good.

Here it is.

EDIT: Oh yeah - it's not in the file perse but: Dru you can use this or ditch it whatever you want. If there's any place to put proper attribution, that would be nice, but not necessary.
 Filename RPGHUDInvasion.uc [Disk] Download
 Description Modified RPGHUDInvasion.uc - changes medics on radar to bright aqua
 Filesize 5 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  186 time(s)


I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Make one. Just a little 32x32 (or 16x16) red cross (or aqua, whatever), import it into a package and use that.

And as far as I know, DrawTile accepts any material O.o.
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Well yeah I thought about that too - but I think tonight I was lucky to get as far as I did.

EDIT: WOW DUDE! FAR OUT!

I was running into issues with DrawTile and it took me a while to work it out. The RPGHUDInvasion.uc attached to this message has medics as green "booster crosses" on the radar (even the viewer, if the viewer is a medic). In my testing, leaving the cross blue like everyone else had them quite faint. Green shows up very brightly, so it probably could be adjusted a bit, or some other color combination might make it worthwhile.

There are more comments in this one too, including one that says it's all Dru's.

EDIT II: Okay - I found the right texture to use (it's actually in the same "texture" but a different set of coordinates) to get a regular cross. It's color is blue (though I threw in just a little green to lighten it up a bit).

EDIT III: Last edit (for the night, anyway ). Added a screen shot:

 Filename RPGHUDInvasion.uc [Disk] Download
 Description Third and final ... promise!
 Filesize 6 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  165 time(s)


I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

Did you try to host a server and then start a client to do this?

The reason I'm asking is that I don't believe there is any object you can detect on a medic to determine they are a medic.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Poo!

Yeah it worked as a listen server but not as a dedicated.

Here I thought I had it figured all out.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

lol just posted that very same question in the other thread...

you almost need a class to handle player spawning or something that can detect it...

which you could implement listeners.. would make it a lot easier.




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
[GO]staticx



Joined: 01/22/2006 13:02:38
Messages: 25
Offline

Shadow-X wrote:
all medics have a CROSS on the radar so people can find us when they yell out medic.Probly wondering how would i code so the game would think this guy is a medic.Well i thought about that too.Once they make there medic weapon witch is a 6 of infity then the cross would pop up on the radar. 

UntamedSub wrote:
Someone also mentioned possibly having or being able to purchase an ability as a medic to have awareness on fellow players, like they do for monsters, to see if they needed health from a bit further away. 


I heard both of these suggestions and I do have to admit they are very good suggestions. As a medic I would like people to find me easier and me know if other players are needing medical assistance without having to look at the "hard to see" health count above their heads which doesn't tell me what their health capacity is. What shadow was suggesting is good, but how about a medic showing up as a cross no matter what weapon they're using. It seems that would be easier to code then what weapon they're using. I'm not sure, though...I don't code ut. I would just like to have someone know that I'm a medic no matter what weapon I'm using.

----------------------------
-(DC)staticx-med

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.ubuntu.com/files/countdown/display.js"></script>
[Yahoo!]
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

TheDruidXpawX wrote:
The reason I'm asking is that I don't believe there is any object you can detect on a medic to determine they are a medic. 

Yeah I even went as far to think through what kind of data the server would be dropping on the client ... but not even the client's own class information is delivered as far as I can tell.

I briefly pondered if you could query what type of weapon some other player was holding, but I'm betting, if I were lucky, all I would get is "Flak Cannon" or what have you (and not anything that would indicate which kind of Flak Cannon). Because if I could get this info, then I would switch the query to simply query the type of weapon, and if it were a medic or healing weapon, make the dot a cross.

Boy Dru, thanks for bummin' me out!

I'll take a look at it a little more, but I guess it will be time to move on to the AR/SG issue.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Dru/Others:

1. Is it impossible/impractical to use a "replication" statement to get the needed data to the client? I think I only vaguely understand what I've read about it ...

2. Also it does appear as if weapon information is replicated - so I might be able to do something with the description of the weapon (if I can get it) and change the radar ...

The problem pops up that this would be difficult to test fully. I can bring a medic on to my test situation and it should show himself as a cross, but the medic bots don't always realize they're supposed to create one ... I guess I could try the generic weapons first ...

Well gang, you probably won't see me too much tonight ...

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

BotFodder wrote:
Poo!

Yeah it worked as a listen server but not as a dedicated.

Here I thought I had it figured all out.  


What is it with dedicated servers and screwing things up? You know, the whole Monster Points thing is probably only acting up because it's a dedicated server.[/offtopic]

Oh, an idea I just got. There should be two crosses, one red and one blue or something. The red means they are wielding their Medic weapon, and blue means that they have it in their inventory. Just a thought.
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

BotFodder wrote:
2. Also it does appear as if weapon information is replicated ... 

As I suspected, the weapon information that is replicated is the client's own weapon information; none of the weapon info for people near the client's player is sent. IT was little more than a pipe dream.

I don't see any way to do this without passing more information to the client somehow than already is. Too bad, too, because from my play testing, it would look pretty cool.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
 
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Go to Page: 1, 2 Next 
Go to: