[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
TransLauncher bind  XML
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Go to Page: 1, 2 Next 
Author Message
Fraggerman

Killing Spree

Joined: 05/26/2005 17:53:49
Messages: 68
Location: Hear and their.
Offline

Can anyone help me with this problem. I have bound a key so that I can place my TransLauncher in an area and with ONE touch of that button go to that place.

This is what I presently have :
Aliases[38]=(EDITED OUT TO PROTECT THE INTEGRETY OF THE GAME,Alias="teleport")

but if my transporter isnt already selected when I use the key then all I get is a view from my trans. I have to press the button twice in order to transport.

Nobody likes me
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

Binds don't seem to work with invasion. You cant even unse the swap fire mode. Not 100% sure but I think it has something to do with the magic weapon mutator and the weapon objects being from the server instead of the user.ini file on your computer.




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

Hey Bushbomb or v0r, can either of you tell me if this happens in non-invasion games too?

Maybe this one is worthy of passing along to Mysterial

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

I think he is working on it actually but he said it was pretty low priority because you could bind just about any key combos you wanted and some would say that it was almost like cheating.




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
Fraggerman

Killing Spree

Joined: 05/26/2005 17:53:49
Messages: 68
Location: Hear and their.
Offline

Transporting, in itself, is like cheating, but as long as you have it why not make it more efficient?

Nobody likes me
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

For the same reason the minigun doesnt fire 1000 rounds a second.

Making things too efficient makes the game way too easy.

Although for invasion its not like cheating gets you a whole lot anyway.
Fraggerman

Killing Spree

Joined: 05/26/2005 17:53:49
Messages: 68
Location: Hear and their.
Offline

Making the minigun fire 1000 rounds a second would be cheating, transporting to your transporter isn't cheating, because that's the way the game was made. It's no different than changing how you pull up a weapon (i.e. having the space key pull up your favorite weapon, which, BTW, is in the settings area). All I want to do is transport (not cheating) to it (use of weapon made easy)

If the mods think it's cheating, then so be it. If they don't fix it then I cant use my bind, and nobody looses out.

Nobody likes me
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

Yeah I would like to pull out the sheild gun as and have it powered up and then switch back to my previous weapon after I release it. I guess eventually we will be able to bind commands but not sure how long it will be.




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

Heres the thread off of mysterials forum


v0rTeX
Member


Joined: 28 Jul 1998
Posts: 249

Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:51 pm Post subject: Problem with RPG and this keybind....

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok one of my loyal minions submitted this rather odd discovery.

He uses a keybind as such

key=switchweapon 1 | altfire | onrelease switchtolastweapon

So from what I hear, this should (on press of key) pull out shield gun and activate secondary to bring up the shield, then (on release) whip out the last weapon he was using before pushing the key. (My guess is sort of like the 'block' button in most fighting games for quick defense of single shots or something.)

Anyway, when using RPG with Magic Weapons disabled, the keybind functions as it would in any gametype with no mutators.

When using RPG with Magic Weapons turned on, the press pulls out the shield and activates, but the release doesnt pull out the last used weapon. He is just left standing there holding the shield gun.

Thought I would report this to see if it was an intentional thing or a bizarre side effect.

Back to top


Continuum
Guest





Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:26 pm Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have a similar problem, swap fire and scripts in the user.ini dont work at all when playing rpg mode.

Back to top


Mysterial
Site Admin


Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Posts: 507

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:57 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's not intentional, but it's a really low priority fix since I consider binds of that type to be cheating.

Back to top


v0rTeX
Member


Joined: 28 Jul 1998
Posts: 249

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 6:59 pm Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

eh no sweat, I would call it turtling at the least if not cheating..

I just told them I would ask if it was something done intentional or just coincidence.



Mysterials rpg page
http://mysterial.linuxgangster.org/UTRPG/




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

I may have overexaggerated the point a bit but making the mini fire 1000 rounds a second and making the TL work faster are examples of the same exact thing. You are trying to make an element of the game work faster than it was originally intended. Just because a keybind can allow you to make the teleport trick work but no the increased rate of fire on the mini, doesnt make it less of cheating in some way.

Either example just means making something go faster. Its just that the minigun example would be slightly more godlike than the teleport.
DarkestPoet

Killing Spree

Joined: 01/31/2005 01:24:13
Messages: 45
Offline

v0rTeX wrote:
I may have overexaggerated the point a bit but making the mini fire 1000 rounds a second and making the TL work faster are examples of the same exact thing. You are trying to make an element of the game work faster than it was originally intended. Just because a keybind can allow you to make the teleport trick work but no the increased rate of fire on the mini, doesnt make it less of cheating in some way.

Either example just means making something go faster. Its just that the minigun example would be slightly more godlike than the teleport. 


Not really, you'd run out of ammo before you killed more than 3 monsters, and that's assuming they're all lined up for you to shoot. Just think of the problems if you missed with the minigun. One worthless "clip" down the drain. Now if you added infinite ammo to the minigun (or got an infinite minigun +/-), that would be obviously cheap(cheating).

Anyway, you hit Q, and the translocator pops up, you hit right mouse button, you teleport away. Not hard.
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

What about if you bind a button that fires a deemer then teleports you to your beacon.??

Could you even find the button on the keyboard in the middle of a game?




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
Lord Deathknight

Killing Spree
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/22/2005 20:29:18
Messages: 39
Offline

But see you could bind several actions to a single key stroke, like firing your deemer and then transporting to a safe location and not even have the deemer at the ready.

For example you could have the flack, your translocator puck is safely tuck away in some corner. Then you walk around the bend and wow! there is a nice nest of titans. Now with a single keystroke.....

You automatically switch from your flack, to your deemer, it fires into the nest of titans, then its switches to your translocator and you teleport out of harms way and watch the experience roll up with a smirk on your lips.

You add speed switcher skill to this combo and this action takes less than a couple of seconds

emetakleze

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/02/2005 18:15:15
Messages: 1241
Location: north east, ny.
Offline

Lord Deathknight wrote:
But see you could bind several actions to a single key stroke, like firing your deemer and then transporting to a safe location and not even have the deemer at the ready.

For example you could have the flack, your translocator puck is safely tuck away in some corner. Then you walk around the bend and wow! there is a nice nest of titans. Now with a single keystroke.....

You automatically switch from your flack, to your deemer, it fires into the nest of titans, then its switches to your translocator and you teleport out of harms way and watch the experience roll up with a smirk on your lips.

You add speed switcher skill to this combo and this action takes less than a couple of seconds

 

I think we've all seen DD do this senario, with out a key bind! Those fingers of his must be just a blur on the keyboard!LOL

****"All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain."**** -Batty

****On a hot summer night would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?****

***Though I cannot corrupt that which is by nature already corrupt, I can and do change the nature of the corruption***

IM:atvnj at hotmail.com
[Email] [MSN]
bushbomb

Killing Spree

Joined: 01/21/2005 14:06:46
Messages: 48
Offline

lol, seems like a moot point with the translocator. just use it like any other normal weapon, bind a key to it, and use it.

I position my left hand on the keyboard during play so I can reach about 15 keys without even thinking, then a few I have to think where to reach to, but all the while keeping my right hand on the trackball. I assure you that making translocating that fraction of a second faster is not going to make or break any good player.

If you get better with your keybinds/weapon switching, you can translocate, shoot a shock, translocate again, shoot a couple more times, then hit the ground in your strategically planned spot without having any special keybinds, just a "shock rifle" and "translocator" keybind. Just practice

Server Admin
www.DAWGA.com
UT2004 RPG since 2004
[WWW] [MSN]
 
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Go to Page: 1, 2 Next 
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7 © JForum Team