[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
DruidsRPG155 (currently beta)  XML
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Author Message
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

v0rTeX wrote:
Well if you like the cost scheme of the default monster tongue, why not just keep using it. From my understanding the only difference in Druids monster tongue skill IS the cost.

Unless it does something else Im not aware of? 


The only other change is allowing you to pick which pets are available...

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
KillerI8I



Joined: 02/14/2005 04:56:38
Messages: 3
Offline

I got a question about that monster changing,
does the way u put them also influance the monster tonque level u wil get it at ??
like that if i put a warlord at first[top] that u get that at MT 1
and so on.. or the other way around, or does he automaticly alter it to the right level ??
bushbomb

Killing Spree

Joined: 01/21/2005 14:06:46
Messages: 48
Offline

Yes, the only reason I would switch is so that I can pick which pets are available. I would like to take out the queens.

Server Admin
www.DAWGA.com
UT2004 RPG since 2004
[WWW] [MSN]
bushbomb

Killing Spree

Joined: 01/21/2005 14:06:46
Messages: 48
Offline

[DruidsRPG155.DruidMonsterSummon]
StartingCost=10
CostAddPerLevel=4
MaxLevel=8
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.SkaarjPupae'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Razorfly'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Manta'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Krall'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.EliteKrall'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Gasbag'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Brute'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Skaarj'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Behemoth'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.IceSkaarj'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.FireSkaarj'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.WarLord'


Is that how it should look? I'm not able to change the cost of it. Any tips?

Server Admin
www.DAWGA.com
UT2004 RPG since 2004
[WWW] [MSN]
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

bushbomb wrote:
[DruidsRPG155.DruidMonsterSummon]
StartingCost=10
CostAddPerLevel=4
MaxLevel=8
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.SkaarjPupae'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Razorfly'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Manta'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Krall'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.EliteKrall'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Gasbag'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Brute'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Skaarj'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.Behemoth'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.IceSkaarj'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.FireSkaarj'
NewMonsterList=Class'SkaarjPack.WarLord'


Is that how it should look? I'm not able to change the cost of it. Any tips? 


Yeah that's how it should work.... hmm

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

You cant change the cost of it for the same reasons I am unable to change the cost of loaded. The rest should work.

Just to clarify, we list the monster you wish to ALLOW to be summoned right?
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

v0rTeX wrote:
You cant change the cost of it for the same reasons I am unable to change the cost of loaded. The rest should work.

Just to clarify, we list the monster you wish to ALLOW to be summoned right?
 


Yup only the ones you want allowed.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
bushbomb

Killing Spree

Joined: 01/21/2005 14:06:46
Messages: 48
Offline

We loaded 155 a day ago. Slowfoot/Quickfoot does not seem to be anything like it was before, in fact, I find myself guessing if a quickfoot 5 shock is making me move any faster at all. The monster summon list does not work correctly using the exact lines in my last post. Anything and everything that is in my monstertable seems fair game for the artifact and the skill. I have not tested ressurection yet.

Server Admin
www.DAWGA.com
UT2004 RPG since 2004
[WWW] [MSN]
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

bushbomb wrote:
We loaded 155 a day ago. Slowfoot/Quickfoot does not seem to be anything like it was before, in fact, I find myself guessing if a quickfoot 5 shock is making me move any faster at all. The monster summon list does not work correctly using the exact lines in my last post. Anything and everything that is in my monstertable seems fair game for the artifact and the skill. I have not tested ressurection yet. 


It's half as fast. I thought 10% per + was just too much. now it behaves exactly as the skill 5% per plus, additive with the quickfoot skill.

If you want to examine the difference, you can type showdebug in the console. The debug output will show your ground speed.


Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
bushbomb

Killing Spree

Joined: 01/21/2005 14:06:46
Messages: 48
Offline

In regards to having double weapons, like in LTS.....

Would adding something like

foreach AllActors( class 'Actor', Other )
{
if( Other.IsA('Weapon'))
Other.Destroy();
}
 


work in the function giveWeapon, perhaps near the beginning prior to giving them more weapons? Just a thought, not really sure which weapons get loaded first, or if there's a simple way to check if someone has 2 of a certain weapon. Does denial load the kept weapon before or after the loaded weapons get added?

Server Admin
www.DAWGA.com
UT2004 RPG since 2004
[WWW] [MSN]
bushbomb

Killing Spree

Joined: 01/21/2005 14:06:46
Messages: 48
Offline

Well, maybe not that last thing I posted, but is it possible to do something like this?:


static function ModifyPawn(Pawn Other, int AbilityLevel)
{
local Mutator m;
local MutUT2004RPG RPGMut;
local int x;
local LoadedInv LoadedInv;
//Duplicate Removing Code
// 1) iterate through Other.Inventory
// 2) if it's a weapon (mabye check if "IsA('Weapon') or 'RPGWeapon'
// 3) if yes then: if( string(whatever.class) ~= "<weaponclassname>") { whatever.destroy(); }
//End Duplicate Removing Code
for (m = Other.Level.Game.BaseMutator; m != None; m = m.NextMutator)
if (MutUT2004RPG(m) != None)
{
RPGMut = MutUT2004RPG(m);
break;
}

if(Other.FindInventoryType(class'LoadedInv') != None)
return;
LoadedInv = Other.spawn(class'LoadedInv');
if(LoadedInv == None)
return;
for(x = 0; x < default.Weapons.length; x++)
giveWeapon(Other, default.Weapons[x], AbilityLevel, RPGMut);
for(x = 0; AbilityLevel >= 2 && x < default.ONSWeapons.length; x++)
giveWeapon(Other, default.ONSWeapons[x], AbilityLevel, RPGMut);
for(x = 0; Other.Level.Game.IsA('Invasion') && AbilityLevel >= 3 && x < default.SuperWeapons.length; x++)
giveWeapon(Other, default.SuperWeapons[x], AbilityLevel, RPGMut);
LoadedInv.giveTo(Other);
}
 



I can go through the default weapons easily enough, the catch is that they're not simply weapons. I've determined that the regular modified weapons get loaded before these do. I was able to write a "function bool CheckReplacement" that goes through and removes duplicate weapons, but I'm fresh into UnrealScript, so what I wrote only works with 1 player in the game cause I hadn't been able to do a "foreach" statement to iterate through items for a specific player at a time.

Anyone have any thoughts?

Server Admin
www.DAWGA.com
UT2004 RPG since 2004
[WWW] [MSN]
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

Okay I did more testing and I am able to select which pets are allowed. Since I only use the Enhanced Monster Summon Charm I only need the config section of ini file that points to the Artifact. The reason it didnt work earlier is I must have been using the config lines for Monster Tongue instead.

Oops
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

v0rTeX wrote:
Okay I did more testing and I am able to select which pets are allowed. Since I only use the Enhanced Monster Summon Charm I only need the config section of ini file that points to the Artifact. The reason it didnt work earlier is I must have been using the config lines for Monster Tongue instead.

Oops  


Mysterial told me what I'm doing wrong. Apparently, since the child class is marked as config but the parent class is not, only variables exposed in the child class are configurable.

I'll help this along next release.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
bushbomb

Killing Spree

Joined: 01/21/2005 14:06:46
Messages: 48
Offline

Ok, please try this Druid and let me know if it works. Everything I say pertains to the "DruidLoaded.uc" file.

original code:
Code:
 static function ModifyPawn(Pawn Other, int AbilityLevel) 
 { 
 local Mutator m; 
 local MutUT2004RPG RPGMut; 
 local int x; 
 local LoadedInv LoadedInv; 
 
 for (m = Other.Level.Game.BaseMutator; m != None; m = m.NextMutator) 
 if (MutUT2004RPG(m) != None) 
 { 
 RPGMut = MutUT2004RPG(m); 
 break; 
 } 
 
 if(Other.FindInventoryType(class'LoadedInv') != None) 
 return; 
 LoadedInv = Other.spawn(class'LoadedInv'); 
 if(LoadedInv == None) 
 return; 
 for(x = 0; x < default.Weapons.length; x++) 
 giveWeapon(Other, default.Weapons[x], AbilityLevel, RPGMut); 
 for(x = 0; AbilityLevel >= 2 && x < default.ONSWeapons.length; x++) 
 giveWeapon(Other, default.ONSWeapons[x], AbilityLevel, RPGMut); 
 for(x = 0; Other.Level.Game.IsA('Invasion') && AbilityLevel >= 3 && x < default.SuperWeapons.length; x++) 
 giveWeapon(Other, default.SuperWeapons[x], AbilityLevel, RPGMut); 
 LoadedInv.giveTo(Other); 
 }
 


modified code:
Code:
 static function ModifyPawn(Pawn Other, int AbilityLevel) 
 { 
 local Mutator m; 
 local MutUT2004RPG RPGMut; 
 local int x; 
 local LoadedInv LoadedInv; 
 
 //REMOVE ALL WEAPONS HERE because the Loaded weapons have
 //not been added yet.  Sinc this is in the Loaded Ability, it only gets
 //called by those having Loaded, so they don't need the default 
 //weapons they get (like in LTS).....that is where people having loaded
 // get double every weapon.
 
 for (m = Other.Level.Game.BaseMutator; m != None; m = m.NextMutator) 
 if (MutUT2004RPG(m) != None) 
 { 
 RPGMut = MutUT2004RPG(m); 
 break; 
 } 
 
 if(Other.FindInventoryType(class'LoadedInv') != None) 
 return; 
 LoadedInv = Other.spawn(class'LoadedInv'); 
 if(LoadedInv == None) 
 return; 
 for(x = 0; x < default.Weapons.length; x++) 
 giveWeapon(Other, default.Weapons[x], AbilityLevel, RPGMut); 
 for(x = 0; AbilityLevel >= 2 && x < default.ONSWeapons.length; x++) 
 giveWeapon(Other, default.ONSWeapons[x], AbilityLevel, RPGMut); 
 for(x = 0; Other.Level.Game.IsA('Invasion') && AbilityLevel >= 3 && x < default.SuperWeapons.length; x++) 
 giveWeapon(Other, default.SuperWeapons[x], AbilityLevel, RPGMut); 
 LoadedInv.giveTo(Other); 
 }
 


Now, where I made the comment is where I would anticipate the best place is. I re-compiled your stuff as 155b to test by adding "log()" statements so I could see and it did list weapons at that point, prior to your pack loading new ones for the loaded skill. I wrote code to scan through and remove artifacts, but I know it works for weapons too. During the iterations, they destroy command kills the "going through the list", that's why I have it iterate through "x" the 2nd time. All that needs to be changed from the following code is using the weapon class names instead of the artifact class names.

Code:
 local int i, x;
 local inventory inv;
 
 
     	  	i = 0;
     	    for (Inv = Sender.Pawn.Inventory; Inv != None; Inv = Inv.Inventory) {
     	        i++;
     	    }
             for (x = 0; x <= i; x++) {
                for (Inv = Sender.Pawn.Inventory; Inv != None; Inv = Inv.Inventory) {
             	    if (string(inv.Class) ~= "UT2004RPG.ArtifactFlight") {inv.Destroy();}
             	    else if (string(inv.Class) ~= "UT2004RPG.ArtifactInvulnerability") {inv.Destroy();}
             	    else if (string(inv.Class) ~= "UT2004RPG.ArtifactLightningRod") {inv.Destroy();}
             	    else if (string(inv.Class) ~= "DruidsRPG155.DruidArtifactMonsterSummon") {inv.Destroy();}
             	    else if (string(inv.Class) ~= "DruidsRPG155.DruidEnhancedArtifactMonsterSummon") {inv.Destroy();}
             	    else if (string(inv.Class) ~= "UT2004RPG.ArtifactTeleport") {inv.Destroy();}
             	    else if (string(inv.Class) ~= "UT2004RPG.ArtifactTripleDamage") {inv.Destroy();}
             	    else if (string(inv.Class) ~= "DruidsRPG155.DruidArtifactMakeMagicWeapon") {inv.Destroy();}
             	    else if (string(inv.Class) ~= "DruidsRPG155.DruidArtifactSpider") {inv.Destroy();}
                 }
             }
 



I'm sure there may be a faster way to do it, but hey, it's only my first week learning unrealscript. I've heard from multiple people that "the duplicate weapon problem has been a difficult thing to solve for druid and mysterial both". I'd really like to help resolve the problem. If what I posted does not work, let me know why and I'll see if I can troubleshoot it more. It would be awesome to see this implemented in the next release so I don't have to re-name and re-compile the loaded to solve that problem.

Server Admin
www.DAWGA.com
UT2004 RPG since 2004
[WWW] [MSN]
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

Awesome! It's nice to have some other eyes on this too. I've been kinda swamped this weekend, so working on this has been difficult. I'll see if I can get to trying it out next week.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
 
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7 © JForum Team