[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
medic/monster master bug  XML
Forum Index -> Druids RPG
Author Message
Zinzin



Joined: 02/03/2006 13:16:49
Messages: 9
Location: Over the hills and far away
Offline

I ran into this bug when buying the monster summon skill.
I previously had bought the loaded medic skill.
UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2005-11-23_16.22]
...

General protection fault!

History: UObject::execClassContext <- (DruidMonsterMasterArtifactMonsterSummon DM-CBP2-KillbillyBarn.DruidMonsterMasterArtifactMonsterSummon @ Function DruidsRPG188.DruidArtifactMonsterSummon.PostBeginPlay : 001A) <- UObject::ProcessEvent <- (DruidMonsterMasterArtifactMonsterSummon DM-CBP2-KillbillyBarn.DruidMonsterMasterArtifactMonsterSummon, Function DruidsRPG188.DruidArtifactMonsterSummon.PostBeginPlay) <- ULevel::SpawnActor <- (DruidMonsterMasterArtifactMonsterSummon) <- UObject::execClassContext <- (RPGStatsInv DM-CBP2-KillbillyBarn.RPGStatsInv @ Function UT2004RPG.RPGStatsInv.Tick : 00BA) <- UObject::ProcessEvent <- (RPGStatsInv DM-CBP2-KillbillyBarn.RPGStatsInv, Function UT2004RPG.RPGStatsInv.Tick) <- AActor::Tick <- TickAllActors <- ULevel::Tick <- (NetMode=3) <- TickLevel <- UGameEngine::Tick <- Level Killbilly Barn <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 10910191 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free

 

I think both artifacts want to be in the first slot ;)

Whenever I try to reconnect i get the same GPF :(
Kohan

Killing Spree

Joined: 01/21/2006 18:53:41
Messages: 88
Offline

No, that can't be it, because I did that and nothing bad happened. But then, that was v184. Dunno. Second, edit your post and disable smilies; they mess up the quoted text.
Okinesu

Dominating
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:45:34
Messages: 234
Location: San Marcos, TX
Offline

Or just use the code formatting, grrr

Disastrous Consequences
[WWW] aim icon
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

I had a similar problem with 188 once, on a test system. Once I bought the monster summon skill it would always gpf in DruidMonsterMasterArtifactMonsterSummon on address 10910191.

I found in the UT2004.log file, I was getting errors as the game started up - unfortunately I can't remember exactly what the messages were Something like VampireMarker not found in Mut2004RPG, and another one - might have been GetRPGMutator not found. Anyway, the problem was down to it loading UT2004RPG rather than UT2004RPG21, and so the correct classes were not available.

I don't think it was a problem before 188, but 188 needs these classes to be present.

I re-installed the UT2004RPG21 mod, then it all worked fine. Give it a try.
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

Zinzin wrote:
Whenever I try to reconnect i get the same GPF  


Wow. I need to know a bit more before I can diagnose this.

Is your character on the DC server? If so, what's your medic's name...

If not, could you get me the RPG data from the UT2004RPG.ini so I can examine it?

Lastly, is it possible that you have a previous version of UT2004RPG installed? The latest version is 2.1

Thanks for the info.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Zinzin



Joined: 02/03/2006 13:16:49
Messages: 9
Location: Over the hills and far away
Offline

At last some usefull replies

I downloaded ut2004RPG 2.1 and installed it, overwiting whatever version there was already there.

The UT2004RPG.u was different as well as about 10 classes.
It fixed it!

Thanks for the help.
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

interesting... I wonder what I've broken.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Zinzin



Joined: 02/03/2006 13:16:49
Messages: 9
Location: Over the hills and far away
Offline

Do you want a list of the changed classes? I can try to find out.
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

I don't know a lot about these things, but...
DruidMonsterMasterArtifactMonsterSummon is based on DruidArtifactMonsterSummon.
The error report posted by Zinzin refers to PostBeginPlay in DruidArtifactMonsterSummon
Looking at that bit of code, it has the line
RPGMut = class'MutUT2004RPG'.static.GetRPGMutator(Level.Game);

GetRPGMutator wasn't in the 2.0 version of UT2004RPG, it was added in version 2.1.

Now if you just put UT2004RPG.u and UT2004RPG21.u in your system directory, you hit these sorts of problems. It seems to be the UT2004RPG that gets loaded instead of the UT2004RPG21. And because that class isn't there, it goes splat.

If you run the UT2004RPG21.ut4mod, I think it modifies the UT2004RPG.u file to include these classes. Certainly the file changed on my machine from 550k to 564k. So, no more problems.

I think the change appeared between version 180 and 183 of DruidsRPG, when you changed the way the MonsterList was created. You are using a feature which ought to be there, but on certain client installs it wont be. But they can easily fix.
Zinzin



Joined: 02/03/2006 13:16:49
Messages: 9
Location: Over the hills and far away
Offline

In the zip file, there is no UT2004RPG21.u file, there is just a newer version of the 'old' UT2004RPG.u . You can't have both versions at the same time.
And apparently, the server doesn't check the client's version of that file.

Dropping 110 levels already was an adventure, then this bug happened

@TheDruidXpawX: char is 'Zinzin' like my nickname here.
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

When I installed UT2004RPG version 2.1, I ran a ut4mod file - so I am not sure what it changed.
By the sounds of it, you had a zip file with just the .u file etc in it, which you manually copied over the top.

Mmmm. I wonder how many others have out of date UT2004RPG.u files?
Zinzin



Joined: 02/03/2006 13:16:49
Messages: 9
Location: Over the hills and far away
Offline

Normally the umod version should contain the same files as the zip, with some kind of install program around it.

I think quite a few people might still have an old version. It does work for most things apparently, except for some you might think are bugs
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

Zinzin wrote:
Normally the umod version should contain the same files as the zip, with some kind of install program around it.

I think quite a few people might still have an old version. It does work for most things apparently, except for some you might think are bugs  


I'm pretty sure if you had the old version in your System folder, then the server would force you to download the newer version and it would be in your cache. The game has built in checks for file sizes of files in use. Which is why if there are two versions of the same map, and you have a different version than the server, it will have you download the same one the server has. So unless the old RPG and the new RPG were the same size, it would see it was different and require you to get the new one.

A corrupted file might be the most likely problem. If a few bits got switched but none were added or removed the file would be the same size and you wouldn't be getting a new one in your cache to correct the problem.
 
Forum Index -> Druids RPG
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7 © JForum Team