[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Working booster combo to replace BBBB  XML
Forum Index -> UnrealScript, Coding, Mapping, and 3rd party Mods Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Author Message
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

KohanX wrote:
We still don't know why it's only the Dedicated Server on which it does not succeed. 


Actually yes, I know that the reason it doesn't work on a dedicated server is because the information needed to properly replace a default combo isn't being replicated properly.

As for how to make it work properly, that I don't know. The 'WHY' isn't the problem, it's the 'HOW' that is kicking our behinds on this one.
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Ah, replication, the part of code that everyone hates. I'll take a look at the UnrealWiki and see if I can figure anything.
Drago'Nish

Dominating
[Avatar]
Joined: 08/10/2005 18:38:46
Messages: 205
Offline

v0rTeX wrote:
Also, I have a fixed version of Booster that I use so I am less inclined to try and make this one work. I'm happy with a new key combo to use. I'm happy to test things when someone else thinks they have fixed the code but I won't go trying to fix it myself anymore. I took a shot at it and it didn't work.  

I agree, and I dont blame you.

I am leaving tomorrow for aprox a month, maybe longer or shorter.
hey, it's summer vacation for me, time to go to my mother for some weeks.

I'll have my laptop with me, not sure if i'll be trying to get this thing working though, As my personal intrest in this isnt much either.

EDIT: strangely, my post got a little changed, and my total post ended up as a quote from v0rTeX, and the quote of v0rTeX ended up as a quote from continuum, funny to see though.

Zenas: Weapons Master - lvl 26
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

That edit confuses me...

Anyhow, yeah, replication looks a little too insane, and, at this point, really boring for me to take the time to learn. Frankly, I don't really use Adrenaline combos as a Medic or Merchant.
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

Continuum wrote:
Level.NetMode != NM_DedicatedServer 


This really does just mean that Whatever is executing this code is not on the server. It could be a client, or a non-dedicated server, or instant action.

I'm really interested in a fix for this though if anyone can concoct one.

Dru

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

Might have stumbled across how 2k4 handles this (maybe not) I'd try to put something together and test it but it would probaly take me quite a while to find the time (probably be end of August before I got around to it.)


A system is only a 'DedicatedServer' when your hosting a erm dedicated server XD. In other words this bit:

Code:
Code:
 if(Level.NetMode == NM_DedicatedServer) { log("Stage3"); for(i=0; i<6000; i++) { ClientLP[i]=a.LastPlayed[i]; } }
 
 

will never get called on a listen server, only on a server where the host has no viewport. Try replacing 'Level.NetMode == NM_DedicatedServer' with a check on the Role like this:

Code:
Code:
 if(Role==ROLE_Authority) { log("Stage3"); for(i=0; i<6000; i++) { ClientLP[i]=a.LastPlayed[i]; } }
 


Role is only set to ROLE_Authority on the server, it doesnt matter whether it is a listen or dedicated.

For a better test of replication (one thats simpler) you might want to try this. Im not sure if it will work off the spot but im reasonably confident.
 


Full thread on Beyond Unreal

I could be completly wrong as this sort of thing is a bit confusing for me at times.




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

I haven't checked the thread yet, but I'm thinking that's almost *too* simple for Druid and the others not to catch... I dunno, don't listen to me, I'm a newbie at replication .
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

Probably right but maybe it changed from 2k3 - 2k4?




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Well, being as how 2k4's been out for a few years, I think we would have figured something out by now... ah wel, like I said, not my area of expertise.
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

KohanX wrote:
I'm thinking that's almost *too* simple for Druid and the others not to catch... 


I dont know. I really haven't looked at this issue at all

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Drago'Nish

Dominating
[Avatar]
Joined: 08/10/2005 18:38:46
Messages: 205
Offline

wel druid, i think you should.

no doubt that there is a way to make it replace the original combo.

and even though quite a few have a bit of experience with unreal script, i still think you know far more then all of us do.

Zenas: Weapons Master - lvl 26
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Bah I found Vortex's posting and until I opened it up I didn't realize it was his ... different keystrokes.

this message edited 50 times today alone!

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

Yeah I decided that it was better to have a fixed combo than to have it be the proper keystrokes. So I cheated.

I don't know how much help this will be, but in the newest version of Arena Master (v3), there are options to add two new adrenaline combos, and checkboxes to disable any of the original 4 combos.

The way I see it, either there is some hidden secret in there that allows them to disable the combos, or maybe the reason they can disable combos is because it's a separate gametype with its own set of rules.

Anyone care to dig around in the source for it?
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Oh, how I wish I could get some Brownie Points.

I'll take a look.
Drago'Nish

Dominating
[Avatar]
Joined: 08/10/2005 18:38:46
Messages: 205
Offline

i'll have a look right now ^^...


anybody know where i can download it.. ? ops:

EDIT: found it, for those other them myself that do not know where to get it, here is a link to the filefront download:
http://unrealtournament2004.filefront.com/file/ArenaMaster_30;65505

i'll download it right now, but will give it a look tomorrow.. getting to late for me now.

Zenas: Weapons Master - lvl 26
 
Forum Index -> UnrealScript, Coding, Mapping, and 3rd party Mods Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Go to: