[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
How to Make a Desktop Link to the Server  XML
Forum Index -> UT2004 DisastrousConsequences.com Go to Page: 1, 2 Next 
Author Message
Eyesore

Killing Spree
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/25/2005 13:47:45
Messages: 99
Location: York - UK
Offline

I did this after someone suggested it on a problem forum which i can't find anymore. Sorry, i can't remember who suggested it.

Anyway, this is a simple guide to making a desktop shortcut to the Disastrous Consequences server without having to go through all the menus or even linking from the website.

Simply RIGHT CLICK the link below and select 'Copy Shortcut'.
ut2004://disastrousconsequences.com/
Close or Minimize this window to show your desktop, RIGHT CLICK again anywhere on your desktop and select 'Paste Shortcut'. An unreal icon will appear but it will have no text under it.
To name it, simply right click the icon select 'Rename' and call it whatever you want ('Disastrous Consequences' would be advisable).
Also you can change the look of the icon. Just right click it and select 'Properties'. Then click 'Change Icon...'. Click 'Browse...' and look in the 'Help' file in your 'UT2004' directory. Although you only have the choice of the blue and green unreal icons, I'm sure there are others somewhere.

So when you feel like playing, just double click your new icon and it will take you straight into the server without you having to go through the menus if you opened up UT2004 normally.

Here is what mine looks like:


Enjoy.

[{,"+<{3616]<;{-},/]
My Skin - http://www.ut2003hq.com/pafiledb2/pafiledb.php?action=file&id=4285
[Email]
GETSOME


[Avatar]

Joined: 02/11/2005 17:28:21
Messages: 16
Location: St. Petersburg Fl.
Offline

Hey thanks for the hook up.

YOU WANT SOME?
[Email]
cplmac

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 21:10:38
Messages: 1464
Location: chicago burbs
Offline

Cool!!

good, bad, I'm the guy with the gun.
acydreign

Dominating

Joined: 01/08/2005 14:09:13
Messages: 209
Offline

wow.. there's useful information in the forums now.


What has the world gotten to?
dip42

Unstoppable
[Avatar]
Joined: 04/25/2005 17:06:20
Messages: 344
Location: N.J.
Offline

Why does my computer refuse to let me do anything helpful to it?
- It wont let me paste it onto the desktop and i tired in a couple of browsers geuss ill stick to the old way

aim icon
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

dip42 wrote:
Why does my computer refuse to let me do anything helpful to it?
- It wont let me paste it onto the desktop and i tired in a couple of browsers geuss ill stick to the old way  


Try it this way instead...

Right Click the desktop and select New -> Shortcut
then when the box asks for location type
UT2004://disastrousconsequences.com/
then click next, give it a name and finish.

That should work.
Ghorkvos

Killing Spree

Joined: 08/05/2005 12:32:36
Messages: 53
Location: Charlotte, NC
Offline

I use Mozilla Firefox so i dont get the same menu when i right click, but i can simply click and drag the link to the desktop to make a shortcut, of course the problem here is that I have no idea if the game is full, so i prefer to go to the website first anyway

Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster...
and if you gaze into the Abyss, the Abyss gazes also into you.
--Nietzche
http://skincity.beyondunreal.com/?section=models&action=show_infos&id=487
[Email] aim icon
dip42

Unstoppable
[Avatar]
Joined: 04/25/2005 17:06:20
Messages: 344
Location: N.J.
Offline

i use the same thing an i did what the guy said in the post b4 you,
-I did it and it works kinda, everytime i click it it loads up but it always says the servers full even it thiers like 5 people in it

aim icon
MeanDevil

Killing Spree
[Avatar]

Joined: 07/14/2005 13:35:08
Messages: 75
Location: The South East, Kent. UK
Offline

Ok, I followed these instructions on my PC at work and created the shortcut no problem.

My home PC however is having none of it

I get an error message stating:

"Application Not Found"

I click ok and...

"Internet Explorer cannot open this helper application for UT2004:// etc etc

The protocol in this address is not valid make sure the address is correct, and try again"

I've tried various methods to create a shortcut e.g copy + paste and right click desktop and select "New" and create a shortcut maunally but I get the same error.

Could it have anything to do with the game being installed on an external HHD?

Any assistance in beating those pesky windas errors would be apprecaited.

MD

They call me stretch.
[Email] [WWW]
320

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 10/11/2005 21:28:38
Messages: 605
Offline

MeanDevil wrote:
Ok, I followed these instructions on my PC at work and created the shortcut no problem.

My home PC however is having none of it

I get an error message stating:

"Application Not Found"

I click ok and...

"Internet Explorer cannot open this helper application for UT2004:// etc etc

The protocol in this address is not valid make sure the address is correct, and try again"

I've tried various methods to create a shortcut e.g copy + paste and right click desktop and select "New" and create a shortcut maunally but I get the same error.

Could it have anything to do with the game being installed on an external HHD?

Any assistance in beating those pesky windas errors would be apprecaited.

MD 


It might be the external HD. With UT99, you could run it by just copying the entire directory from one computer to another and not run the setup. Did you install it on your primary HD and then move it to the External HD? I don't know if this is the case for 2k4, but if that's what you did then file type registrations and helpers wouldn't be registered, or your comp is looking for them in the old location. Are you using netscape or mozilla at home?
Okinesu

Dominating
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:45:34
Messages: 234
Location: San Marcos, TX
Offline

You can also drag the link to the desktop...

Disastrous Consequences
[WWW] aim icon
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Well, it works in a way - it makes me a spectator.

Any clues as to how I could get it to pop me into the server?

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
kyraeu

Rampage
[Avatar]

Joined: 08/20/2005 18:13:53
Messages: 110
Location: Edmonds, WA
Offline

I posted this in another thread, looked for a few minutes and found it:

To fix the "always joining spectator" bug from your desktop, open up your User.ini file (in System folder) and change the option "SpectatorOnly" to "0" instead of "1".

However, if you click on the "spectate" button ingame, know that it will change that value back to "1" and you will need to change it back to "0".

My Players: Junkie: Kyraeu 85 -- Medic: Excuses 68 -- Weapon: Fyruse 40
Saving for: Ghost 1, 2, 3, then adren skills -- Ghost 3 -- max DB, then some HB
MeanDevil

Killing Spree
[Avatar]

Joined: 07/14/2005 13:35:08
Messages: 75
Location: The South East, Kent. UK
Offline

Thanks for your assistance.

I installed UT2004 directly to the external HHD which is configured to work as an extra drive letter from my PC. I have many games/programs installed and running from this drive without problems.

I have tried copying across the UT2004 directoy onto the drive that holds my system files but I get the same error.

I am running Microsofts Explorer, which won't let me drag and drop the "enter the game" link so can't try that.

I appreciate your advice but perhaps it's more trouble that it's worth!

They call me stretch.
[Email] [WWW]
320

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 10/11/2005 21:28:38
Messages: 605
Offline

MeanDevil wrote:
Thanks for your assistance.

I installed UT2004 directly to the external HHD which is configured to work as an extra drive letter from my PC. I have many games/programs installed and running from this drive without problems.

I have tried copying across the UT2004 directoy onto the drive that holds my system files but I get the same error.

I am running Microsofts Explorer, which won't let me drag and drop the "enter the game" link so can't try that.

I appreciate your advice but perhaps it's more trouble that it's worth!
 


Try it like this as your shortcut path:

C:\UT2004\System\ut2004.exe 208.186.100.30:7777

Change the drive letter, of course. This calls the app and provides it with an argument (the dc server). I do this when file associations get busted.



 
Forum Index -> UT2004 DisastrousConsequences.com Go to Page: 1, 2 Next 
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7 © JForum Team