[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Build 204  XML
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Development
Author Message
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

Heya all. I want to run a build 202, and then start turning on the features you've all been working on.

Here are my current thoughts:

1) Turn on the new artifacts for adrenaline masters and medics.
2) Turn on the bot combos -- need instructions
3) Turn on the artifact bindings. (Sorry, I thought this was already on.) -- Need instructions.
4) Turn on the new monsters. -- Need to figure out the odd build error I got last time. -- Thoughts?
5) Run another engineer trial run.

I'd like to wait a couple days in-between enabling each feature in order to get time for evaluation and feedback on that specific feature.

Anything I've missed out on here?

Dru

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

Sounds good.

From the Monsters point of view, I thought everything was ok. The folder is currently DCMonsterscvs. You can change to DCMonsters101 or whatever, and just build. The only external references within the monster stuff are to the DCMonsters.utx texture file.
Obviously you need the correct package name in serverpackages and editpackages (I think later in the file than the DruidsRPG would be best), and in the satoremonsterpack.ini.

I think last time you mentioned it, the build was ok but the rollout failed due to the wrong entries in the satoremonsterpack.ini?
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

On the keybinding side, I am trying to remember where we were. BotFodder kindly helped earlier by doing some testing. I think it ended up that because the interaction ran client side, it was reading the keys configuration from the client-side UT2004RPG.ini file - which isn't what we want. Perhaps I need to look at again.

In the short term, I think we just put the list of keys in the defaultproperties, so it doesn't need any UT2004RPG.ini entries.

The only other thing is that for the client to be able to set the bindings through the UI, I think the client needs a .int file with the top three lines like

Code:
 [Public]
  Object=(Class=Class,MetaClass=Engine.Mutator,Name=DruidsRPGcvs.DruidsRPGKeysMut,Description="Adds ability to directly select artifacts with keys")
  Object=(Class=class,MetaClass=Xinterface.GUIUserKeyBinding,Name=DruidsRPGcvs.DruidsRPGKeyBinding)
 
 


In the past, after doing a build, I have had to edit the lines in. So Druid, you need to check that when you do the build.

So, the only outstanding question I think was how to replicate the .int file to the clients? I think without it, the key binding still works, but you have to edit the user.ini file directly.

Sorry, not as polished a solution as I would like. However, these replication/configuration things are the most difficult to test in isolation.
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/2622.page#22637

The zip attached to that message has two folders - BotsCombos, a source directory, and System. Really all you need is the stuff in the System folder; but the "ReadMe" is in the BotsCombos folder. The meat of it is reproduced here:
Code:
 Server Administrators:
 
 If you add this package to your server, you must add the add the following to the 
 Engine.GameEngine section of the UT2004.ini: 
 
 ServerPackages=BotsCombos
 
 For best results, add it as the last "ServerPackages" entry (it hasn't been tested
 otherwise).
 ==== Additional Configuration Information ====
 
 You can create a file called BotCombos.ini
 
 The default configuration is equivalent to:
 ================================================================================
 [BotsCombos.MutBotsCombos]
 newComboString(0)="BotsCombos.BotComboDefensive"
 newComboString(1)="BotsCombos.BotComboBerserk"
 newComboString(2)="XGame.ComboSpeed"
 newComboString(3)="XGame.ComboInvis"
 newComboString(4)=""
 newComboString(5)=""
 newComboString(6)=""
 newComboString(7)=""
 newComboString(8)=""
 newComboString(9)=""
 newComboString(10)=""
 newComboString(11)=""
 newComboString(12)=""
 newComboString(13)=""
 newComboString(14)=""
 newComboString(15)=""
 newComboClass(0)=class'BotsCombos.BotComboDefensive'
 newComboClass(1)=class'BotsCombos.BotComboBerserk'
 newComboClass(2)=class'XGame.ComboSpeed'
 newComboClass(3)=class'XGame.ComboInvis'
 
 [BotsCombos.BotComboBerserk]
 Modifier=0.50
 ================================================================================
 Up to 16 combos can be specified, should you wish to extend this mutator by
 writing your own special combos.  A minimum of four should be specified, if any
 MutBotsCombos stanza is specified.  There should be four newComboString lines,
 and four newComboClass lines.  To remove a combo, simply make the lines:
 
 newComboString(3)=""
 newComboClass(3)=
 
 While specifying the appropriate string and class for the other combos.
 
 Note that for best results, your combo arrays should be sorted to have all
 "blank" combos at the end.
 
 Also note that bots only get four combos, so they only get the first four.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Szlat wrote:
So, the only outstanding question I think was how to replicate the .int file to the clients? I think without it, the key binding still works, but you have to edit the user.ini file directly.

Sorry, not as polished a solution as I would like. However, these replication/configuration things are the most difficult to test in isolation. 

Did you see http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/30/2396.page#22442?

You could make a go at adding the necessary code, and when you got something that appeared to work for you, you could let me know and I could test it.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

BotFodder wrote:
Did you see http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/30/2396.page#22442

Yes, and thanks for the information. However, I got bogged down on Engineer stuff and didn't get chance to investigate.

I think the most serious Engineer bugs at the moment are
  • Sentinels don't rotate as they shoot
  • Sometimes on entering a link turret, the turret weapon doesn't get selected, so you have to press 1

    I am still awaiting Druid/Shantara etc to decide if they want to spawn vehicles etc based upon adrenaline or not, and if they want a change in the limits of how many of each thing can be spawned.

    so I have probably got time at the moment to look into it.
  • Moof

    Wicked Sick!
    [Avatar]
    Joined: 06/24/2006 19:42:44
    Messages: 433
    Location: College Park, MD
    Offline

    Well...I gots nothin' in there, but let me know if there's anything I can do to help

    Moof, Scholar of Ni

    Moof (W); Dr. Moof (M); Engimoof (E); Moofgineer (E beta)
    [Yahoo!] aim icon [ICQ]
    Szlat

    Wicked Sick!

    Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
    Messages: 2124
    Location: UK
    Offline

    Ok, key bindings.
    I have updated the key binding stuff (thanks BotFodder for the hint), so now on startup, the list of commands is read server side from the UT2004RPG.ini file, section [DruidsRPG204.DruidsRPGKeysMut] (see the sample in cvs). This is then copied to the clients. So it no longer relies on the client UT2004RPG.ini file.

    I have tested using a dedicated server and a different PC as client with no key entries in the UT2004RPG.ini file. Key bindings in the user.ini file worked.

    So far so good. However, the client does not get the user interface for setting the key bindings unless the client has the DruidsRPGcvs.int file with the three lines at the top. I am not sure if there is any way around this?
    Moof

    Wicked Sick!
    [Avatar]
    Joined: 06/24/2006 19:42:44
    Messages: 433
    Location: College Park, MD
    Offline

    If not, they should be able to use/bind the console commands regardless?

    Moof, Scholar of Ni

    Moof (W); Dr. Moof (M); Engimoof (E); Moofgineer (E beta)
    [Yahoo!] aim icon [ICQ]
    Szlat

    Wicked Sick!

    Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
    Messages: 2124
    Location: UK
    Offline

    Moof wrote:
    If not, they should be able to use/bind the console commands regardless? 

    Yes. They can edit their user.ini file and put in the commands, or they can type them directly into the console.

    Alternatively, once the build is done, we could make the int file available for download. Then people can use the UI.
     
    Forum Index -> Druids RPG Development
    Go to: