[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Static Simulated?  XML
Forum Index -> UnrealScript, Coding, Mapping, and 3rd party Mods
Author Message
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

I just thought I'd check here first and make sure no one knew before advertising on the Atari Forums.

What is the difference between Static and Static Simulated, as far as functions go? Apparently, Static automatically insinuates Simulated, so isn't it a bit redundant?
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

Static means that the method can be called without an object of that class. It can be called from anywhere, and generally has no state.

Simulated has to do with replication. Simulated functions are generally executed on the client side, and not the server side.

They do have other meanings in a couple different contexts.

http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Static_Function

http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Simulated_Function

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

I'm not questioning the the definitions or differences between Static and Simulated. My question is: are the two following code snippets the same? If so, why does the former exist? If not, what is the difference?
Code:
static simulated function ModifyPawn( RPGPlayerData Data, int AbilityLevel );

Code:
static function ModifyPawn( RPGPlayerData Data, int AbilityLevel );

I looked on the Wiki before my first post, and it told me that Statics are automatically considered Simulated, so I'm thinking it would be redundant to have 'static simulated' functions.
 
Forum Index -> UnrealScript, Coding, Mapping, and 3rd party Mods
Go to: