[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
how to enable opengl 3d rendering  XML
Forum Index -> Banter
Author Message
Mystic

Godlike

Joined: 12/21/2004 21:36:56
Messages: 417
Offline

Ok first things first.. if you dont know what or where the UT2004 system ini is Turn back ...

ok .. open up your 2004ini file .. in ut2004 system folder..


now once open .scroll down alittle till you see this..

Engine.Engine] *Before
RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice
;RenderDevice=Engine.NullRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=PixoDrv.PixoRenderDevice

Simply make it look like this ,,

[Engine.Engine] *After
;RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice
;RenderDevice=Engine.NullRenderDevice
RenderDevice=OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=PixoDrv.PixoRenderDevice
you must go to file and save.. before exiting.. all this does is use a diffrent renderer to process your graphics.. runs 100 pct better on my comp .amd athalon xp 2800 plus geforce 4 mx average 75 fps now as apose 11 useing direct 3d.. it might not work for you.. if not .simply undo it.. enjoy!!
[Yahoo!]
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

My$stic wrote:
Ok first things first.. if you dont know what or where the UT2004 system ini is Turn back ...

ok .. open up your 2004ini file .. in ut2004 system folder..


now once open .scroll down alittle till you see this..

Engine.Engine] *Before
RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice
;RenderDevice=Engine.NullRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=PixoDrv.PixoRenderDevice

Simply make it look like this ,,

[Engine.Engine] *After
;RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice
;RenderDevice=Engine.NullRenderDevice
RenderDevice=OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=PixoDrv.PixoRenderDevice
you must go to file and save.. before exiting.. all this does is use a diffrent renderer to process your graphics.. runs 100 pct better on my comp .amd athalon xp 2800 plus geforce 4 mx average 75 fps now as apose 11 useing direct 3d.. it might not work for you.. if not .simply undo it.. enjoy!!  


I think it disables a few visual effects though. I've played with this myself Linux and the Mac both run on opengl

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
peashooter

Rampage
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/17/2005 11:28:53
Messages: 160
Offline

This might be a stupid question so if so feel free to give me a stupid answer. I have a the built in intergrated video card ( because i lack an AGP slot ), would this work on a intergrated video card? I would try it but if it makes my settings to high i will have to reboot my computer again, ( Long story).

Work Smarter Not Harder!!
[Email] aim icon
Mystic

Godlike

Joined: 12/21/2004 21:36:56
Messages: 417
Offline

its just a diffrent renderer, like direct 3d some systems work better on open gl and some work better on direct 3d.. only way to find out is test.. dunno about your hardware but u should be able to run it
[Yahoo!]
senor_taco

Rampage
[Avatar]

Joined: 02/02/2005 12:58:20
Messages: 142
Offline

To Peashooter, my reccomendation is to check your integrated graphics Opengl compatability. If you find the Motherboard manufacterer's website the info should be there.

"Kimi no shi ni bashou wa koko da!"
[WWW] aim icon
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

Keep in mind that for windows OSes, this is likely to decrease performance by a slight margin.

While Linux and Macs are centered around the OpenGL rendering system, Microsoft stays with DirectX / Direct 3D as their primary method because its in house so to speak. So ATi and nVidia tend to make their drivers for Windows optimized for DirectX setups.

There are some cases where the OpenGL works better in Windows, but the majority of the populace that Bill Gates has 'owned' will get more bang from the standard settings.
Mystic

Godlike

Joined: 12/21/2004 21:36:56
Messages: 417
Offline

yeah thats what i read . but .. in my case .
it just works better n smoother..
all i say is give it a try ..
if it doesnt work its easily fixable. and does no harm to your game or computer..


btw some systems do not come with the pipelines neccasery to run open gl ..the only way to see is to try ,.. or search threw your comp for them ..
but i just try to help my buddies in game ..if it doesnt work im sorry
but if it does .woot to you..

ps.. if you trip druid in game youll get 100 points!!! <hides>
[Yahoo!]
Mystic

Godlike

Joined: 12/21/2004 21:36:56
Messages: 417
Offline

gar!! just testing
[Yahoo!]
°Mr°Jiggles°


[Avatar]

Joined: 03/18/2005 21:21:13
Messages: 5
Offline

One question Ummm what does the opengl 3d rendering do?

!¡!°Mr°Jiggles°!¡ Get Jigi wit it !¡!°Mr°Jiggles°!¡!
senor_taco

Rampage
[Avatar]

Joined: 02/02/2005 12:58:20
Messages: 142
Offline

Open GL is a different renderer than what is normally used by Windows.

Beyond that I couldn't tell you what is different about it.

"Kimi no shi ni bashou wa koko da!"
[WWW] aim icon
°Mr°Jiggles°


[Avatar]

Joined: 03/18/2005 21:21:13
Messages: 5
Offline

What does it change? I gotz windows sooo...... Lol if u dont want to anser its ok i can get confuzed at times lol

!¡!°Mr°Jiggles°!¡ Get Jigi wit it !¡!°Mr°Jiggles°!¡!
emetakleze

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/02/2005 18:15:15
Messages: 1241
Location: north east, ny.
Offline

My, your avatar is a bit large aint it Mr. Jiggles?

****"All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain."**** -Batty

****On a hot summer night would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?****

***Though I cannot corrupt that which is by nature already corrupt, I can and do change the nature of the corruption***

IM:atvnj at hotmail.com
[Email] [MSN]
Ess-Jay

Rampage
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/03/2005 22:37:03
Messages: 160
Location: Cardiff, UK
Offline

To put it in simple terms, OpenGL and DirectX are both platforms that programmers can use to build multimedia applications like Unreal Tournament. They both allow the programmers to access hardware specifications, e.g. graphics cards, CPU's, without having to write code that is hardware specific. In other words, games can be played on a cross platform of graphics cards, not just an Nvidia card or ATi model. Whereas DirectX was designed as a cross multimedia platform, OpenGL was designed specifically to render 2D and 3D information.

As DirectX is Microsoft owned, it's pretty much the industry standard due to its alledged compatibility with Windows work stations. OpenGL games are still available though - Doom 3 uses the platform to amazing effect.

"I've come here to kick some butt and chew some bubblegum... right now, I'm all outta bubblegum..."
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
KoRn


[Avatar]
Joined: 03/16/2005 02:36:43
Messages: 4
Location: Indianapolis
Offline

I was going to do this, but from what I can see, I have the same settings.... mine looks like this

[Engine.Engine]
RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice
;RenderDevice=Engine.NullRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=PixoDrv.PixoRenderDevice

Only difference from what I have and what you posted is the semi-colons, is that what changes it?

Disce quasi semper victurus; vive quasi cras moriturus
[WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
Cloud34

Rampage

Joined: 12/19/2004 21:59:37
Messages: 138
Location: Alberta, Canada
Offline

KoRn wrote:
I was going to do this, but from what I can see, I have the same settings.... mine looks like this

[Engine.Engine]
RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice
;RenderDevice=Engine.NullRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice
;RenderDevice=PixoDrv.PixoRenderDevice

Only difference from what I have and what you posted is the semi-colons, is that what changes it? 


In the UT2004.ini having a semi-colon";" before at the begining of line "comments out" the line. It essentailly tells the game to ignore everything on that line. If there is no semi-colon , the game will try to process that line.

In this case, that means that the one line that DOESN'T have a semi-colon is the type of rendering the game will use. by default, DirectX is the one not commented out. To switch rendering methods, you switch the semi-colons around accordingly.

But to simply answer your question:
Yes.
 
Forum Index -> Banter
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7 © JForum Team