[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Computer Issue  XML
Forum Index -> Banter Go to Page: Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Chameleon

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/27/2005 11:46:50
Messages: 899
Location: When I find out, you will be the second to know
Offline

Well, after changing the bus speed to 4X from 8X, I was able to play for a while and then it started doing it again. I'm starting to think it is a thermal problem now. Anybody know how hard it is to change the heatsink and fan on a video card?

Also, here is two more pictures of what I'm experiencing. One is the UT title screen and the other is what I get in the game itself.
 Filename in game.jpg [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 283 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  121 time(s)

 Filename title screen.jpg [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 439 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  110 time(s)


"Every man dies, not every man really lives"
Chuck Norris doesn't sleep, he waits
My Skin:
http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/752.page
[Email]
emetakleze

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/02/2005 18:15:15
Messages: 1241
Location: north east, ny.
Offline

Cham, stay out of my computer's head!!! Just kidding. Actually, I got a very small amount of the screen shot from in game. it was only a couple of times and very brief. Don't know what it was, and haven't gotten it anywhere else. Maybe it was just a glitch in the map for me.
As for the heat sink, I think it depends on the card. Some sinks are glued on, others have plastic rivits or screws, no matter which it is, BE VERY CARFUL TAKING IT OFF. You don't want to screw up not only the gpu, but any surrounding circuts. And when (if) you do this, make sure you have some cool goo (cooling paste, same stuff used for the connection between the cpu and its heatsink) on hand and use it liberally. You can get a tube of it online (i like tigerdirect) or any local computer store that sells sinks and fans I'm sure.
Good luck my friend, and remember, CAREFULLY, CAREFULLY, CAREFULLY!!

****"All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain."**** -Batty

****On a hot summer night would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?****

***Though I cannot corrupt that which is by nature already corrupt, I can and do change the nature of the corruption***

IM:atvnj at hotmail.com
[Email] [MSN]
(dof)dcs

Killing Spree
[Avatar]
Joined: 01/03/2005 16:39:36
Messages: 73
Offline

emeta, whats that quote about that wolf about/wheres it from?

Superior tactics will prevail, and ownage shall ensue.
aim icon
peashooter

Rampage
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/17/2005 11:28:53
Messages: 160
Offline

Cham, I have that same problem on my UT from time to time. I usually just reboot my UT and it runs perfectly fine. 10/1 its not your video card (Just to let you know). I had that problem when i first got my video card (while i had a intergrated intel video card) And i got that same screen. Even after i changed my video card to a geforce2 fx ( i know im cheap lol) I still get the same problem. Just throwing my 2 cents in there. Feel free to throw them back

Work Smarter Not Harder!!
[Email] aim icon
Cloud34

Rampage

Joined: 12/19/2004 21:59:37
Messages: 138
Offline

peashooter wrote:
Cham, I have that same problem on my UT from time to time. I usually just reboot my UT and it runs perfectly fine. 10/1 its not your video card (Just to let you know). I had that problem when i first got my video card (while i had a intergrated intel video card) And i got that same screen. Even after i changed my video card to a geforce2 fx ( i know im cheap lol) I still get the same problem. Just throwing my 2 cents in there. Feel free to throw them back 


And I've gotten the same problems, and it WAS because my video card was overheating. By overclocking yes I am guilty, but I think he could UNDERclock to see if it helps out. Because underclocking would lesses the heat... which would tell if the heatsink/fan/card should be replaced.
[DOF]SteelAce

Killing Spree
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/05/2005 20:11:00
Messages: 66
Location: Dundee, IL
Offline

Cham, when you're done messin' around, go back to my post and follow the instructions. You might have an overheating video card, but I doubt your heat sink is to blame. Try blowing out the sink and fan with some compressed air to get rid of the dust bunnies. Re-check the fan to make sure it is moving enough air. Make sure your other fan is not interfering with the primary fan; it could actually increase the heat if the airflow is colliding or drawing against your video fan. If your fan is working properly, try Cloud's advice and underclock the card. If the problem goes away, you could be dealing with a bad power supply (motherboard or PSU). This is why you should find another card to test in your comp; you can narrow down the potential culprit list considerably. Re-read my previous post please; otherwise we're just playing roulette (and I hate marbles).



If it's free, it's advice; if you pay for it, it's counseling; if you can use either one, it's a miracle....Jack Adams.



TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

Here's the obligitory download memtest86, unzip it, and burn the iso to a cd. Then boot your computer with it and leave it running overnight

http://www.memtest.org/download/1.55.1/memtest86+-1.55.1.iso.zip

This will test your computer's memory and see if there are any issues there.

In my experience, there are 2 things that cause these kinds of problems. Not enough power supply and bad ram. Testing your ram is free so give it a go.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Mystic

Godlike

Joined: 12/21/2004 21:36:56
Messages: 417
Offline

hmm .. intresting problem .. well first ..flashing a new bios is not good ..the original bios is useualy the best unless directed by a tech .for that comp..
also check your heat sink..if its not working properly your card will overheat.. in your bios .your temp should be in low 50's or lower..
anything higher with a heatsink not working or a weak pwer supply .even dust will cause the graphics to do that... rpm fan speed should be between 4800-6k rpm ..
also try switching ports.. if u havent already ,its definatly a rendering problem.. it could be a simple driver... check a older one or newer..

good luck man ,.. ps.. make sure since u bios flashed that its set up for the right vid.. should be pci or agp onboard.. .mines a integrated pci .. yet my bios was set for agp onboard.. lol which caused so many erros its sick.. good luck mate
[Yahoo!]
emetakleze

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/02/2005 18:15:15
Messages: 1241
Location: north east, ny.
Offline

(dof)dcs wrote:
emeta, whats that quote about that wolf about/wheres it from? 


It the first few lines on a song on Meatloaf's Bat out of Hell album. I found it in the bottom of my desk drawer and had to listen to it (guilty old music pleasure, go figure)

****"All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain."**** -Batty

****On a hot summer night would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?****

***Though I cannot corrupt that which is by nature already corrupt, I can and do change the nature of the corruption***

IM:atvnj at hotmail.com
[Email] [MSN]
Chameleon

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/27/2005 11:46:50
Messages: 899
Location: When I find out, you will be the second to know
Offline

[DOF wrote:
SteelAce]Sounds like it's time to isolate the problem. If you have another video card, slap it in and let the comp run normally. If not, go to your local Best Buy or Circuit City, etc., and buy a new card. Their return policies will allow you to return the card (within a certain amount of time) in case the problem persists. Those lines appear to be noise (digital) creeping into your signal, but there is a possibility that your video card is not the cause. If you have a seating problem with the card due to a short clip (that 90 degree bend where you screw it into the case), then try using a pair of pliers to re-shape the clip, taking care not to affect anything beyond it. Be very careful doing this, as it will void any warranty you may have left on the card. Also, since you have a history of this card unseating itself, you should get a flashlight and examine the agp slot on your motherboard for bent pins. Beyond these possible solutions, this noise could be caused by a number of things, but I would concentrate on the motherboard, power supply, and a peripheral (including your add-in cards) that has decided to stop playing nice with your video card. This requires a little more work to diagnose, but given your symptoms and the fact that your video card is running hot even with the fan running puts my money on the 9800. One other thing; if you have the latest catalyst drivers, you will need to install the .Net framework from Microsoft to install and run them properly. Hope this helps. 


Sorry Steelace, I wasn't ignoring you. I'm trying to get a hold of another video card to test out. I checked the pins in the AGP slot. There wasn't any bent, but there was a bit of dust buildup. There was a bit of dust on the heatsink and fan on the video card, so I cleaned them both. I put the card back in and I was able to play UT for about three hours last night and even played online for a game or two. I knew dust was bad for heat transfer, but I never would of thought it could be that bad. My computers before this one, I wouldn't clean out the inside of the case for years and never had a problem. Of course, I never had a computer running this hot since the voltage is much higher with the faster CPU and video card. I'm still not sure if this is the fix, but so far it is working. It was wierd before that when I lowered the AGP bus speed down to 4X from 8X, it worked fine for a while, too. That is why I'm just keeping my fingers crossed right now. Just keep in mind everyone, I don't know anything about computers. I'm surprised this one even works since I'm the one who picked the parts out and built it.

"Every man dies, not every man really lives"
Chuck Norris doesn't sleep, he waits
My Skin:
http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/752.page
[Email]
Mystic

Godlike

Joined: 12/21/2004 21:36:56
Messages: 417
Offline

heheh cham .. lol was reading .. on a website.. you dont get a gpf .right ..
only color issues .,slowness.out of sync ect..

its a combined problem man..its your video card and heat ..all it is..
seeming you can play for a limited time shows that the heat isnt being transferd as it should .. open up the side of your machine and set a small fan or something thier .to see if u can play longer... if u play longer with a fan blowing in your comp ..get a new card,,and fan ..i had the problem once..awhile back ...

check to see what your temp is at when u get the problem .. just restart and check the bios for your temp .. if you can post your systems specs id help alot just go to run..and type dxdiag.. post us some specs bro.


[Yahoo!]
Chameleon

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/27/2005 11:46:50
Messages: 899
Location: When I find out, you will be the second to know
Offline

Well, finally found out that the problem was the memory on the card. I sent my vid card back to ATi and they are going to fix it. Thing is, though, it means I won't have a computer for at least three weeks....yippeeee

Hopefully, it will be fine when I get it back. Just wish it wouldn't take so long. So, obviously, I won't be playing for a while.


"Every man dies, not every man really lives"
Chuck Norris doesn't sleep, he waits
My Skin:
http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/752.page
[Email]
DaRedeye


[Avatar]

Joined: 03/22/2005 10:05:54
Messages: 29
Location: I'm using the Zero skin from the Nightdyne Strike Force pack.
Offline

Here is a Motherboard Monitor program I use called MBM 5. It moitors temp and voltages for CPU plus a lot of other cool features.

http://mbm.livewiredev.com/

Better late than never

I'm using the Zero skin from the Nightdyne Strike Force pack V1
http://www.ut2003hq.com/pafiledb2/pafiledb.php?action=file&id=5301
[WWW]
Chameleon

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/27/2005 11:46:50
Messages: 899
Location: When I find out, you will be the second to know
Offline

DaRedeye wrote:
Here is a Motherboard Monitor program I use called MBM 5. It moitors temp and voltages for CPU plus a lot of other cool features.

http://mbm.livewiredev.com/

Better late than never  


Thanks for the link. I will try it out. My motherboard came with a monitoring program, also. I can monitor fan speeds, temperatures, and voltages. I will try this one out as well to see if it is any better. I'm always willing to try new stuff.

"Every man dies, not every man really lives"
Chuck Norris doesn't sleep, he waits
My Skin:
http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/752.page
[Email]
 
Forum Index -> Banter Go to Page: Previous  1, 2
Go to: