[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Engineer architecture.  XML
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Development Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Author Message
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

TheDruidXpawX wrote:
Could we give "vehicle" with the block mesh some sort of controller that both does nothing, but makes the monsters target them? 
Yes, I think so. Realistically, monsters only ought to target the blocks if there is no more-obvious target in sight.

It will require a timer in the controller, scanning through all controllers with enemy monster pawns close to the block. If the monster has no current enemy, set the enemy to be the block.

We could also make it so that if the block is closer than the current monster enemy, there is saya 10% chance it will change to target the block.

But all of this will eat up cpu time, if there are loads of blocks.
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

That reminds me - I haven't tested BotsCombos with these, and if it works at all you probably should have a BotsCombos.ini that specifies the extra combos.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

Szlat wrote:
But all of this will eat up cpu time, if there are loads of blocks. 


That's why I'm wondering if there's any way we can put a controller on them that the monsters will target by default...

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

The MonsterController has the following code in its FindNewEnemy function:
Code:
	for ( C=Level.ControllerList; C!=None; C=C.NextController )
 		if ( C.bIsPlayer && (C.Pawn != None) )
 
 

So, unless we set the bIsPlayer flag in the controller, we are stuffed.

Unless we create a new version of Invasion that targets the opposite team rather than just players - which would also fix the FriendlyMonsters not being targeted fully - but I am reluctant to take that path.
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

Szlat wrote:

TheDruidXpawX wrote:
4) I don't remember seeing the regular ons turret anywhere... I'd like to see it. 
What class is it?
 
Assuming that it is the Onslaught.ONSManualGunPawn class, we would need to subclass it. It is a bit too big, and will not let you enter it because it is 'not powered'.
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

I dont see any reason we cant mark it as a player...

We might even want to do this for the turrets.

At the worst, we could try it and see if it breaks anything.. I dont think it will since bots are also players.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

TheDruidXpawX wrote:
I dont see any reason we cant mark it as a player...

We might even want to do this for the turrets.

At the worst, we could try it and see if it breaks anything.. I dont think it will since bots are also players. 

And if it works, we might want to see if it's possible to mark pets as players - except that IIRC, isn't the controller for a summoned monster summarily Destroy()ed for some reason? (replication issues, I'm thinking)

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

TheDruidXpawX wrote:
I dont see any reason we cant mark it as a player...

We might even want to do this for the turrets.

At the worst, we could try it and see if it breaks anything.. I dont think it will since bots are also players. 

Well, I tried it, and on a quick test it seemed to work.

Spawned a block. All the monsters gathered round it hitting it. Not doing a lot of damage - well it is pure granite.

Me standing to one side picking them off. No danger. When the block gets destroyed, spawn another one, at low cost, and start again.

My opinion is that it is too exploitable. So, I think blocks should not be targetted. Certainly not if there is a better target within range.
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline


A slight problem. The blocks are Ghosting
Moof

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]
Joined: 06/24/2006 19:42:44
Messages: 433
Location: College Park, MD
Offline

Where's the block summon code where the player flag is set? I'll debug from there.

Moof, Scholar of Ni

Moof (W); Dr. Moof (M); Engimoof (E); Moofgineer (E beta)
[Yahoo!] aim icon [ICQ]
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Blocks Ghosting: Ack. Just committed a Ghost fix that should fix that.

Please put dcBlocksMeshes in CVS.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Moof

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]
Joined: 06/24/2006 19:42:44
Messages: 433
Location: College Park, MD
Offline

What's your AIM, Bot?

Moof, Scholar of Ni

Moof (W); Dr. Moof (M); Engimoof (E); Moofgineer (E beta)
[Yahoo!] aim icon [ICQ]
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

Szlat wrote:
A slight problem. The blocks are Ghosting
 
I have fixed. Blocks don't really need to be given the players inventory.

I will put it all in cvs shortly.
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

At the moment, Link guns will only link to another link gun, or to a vehicle on the same team as the firer.

I had problems getting blocks working as a Vehicles due to the lack of a skeletal frame, so Blocks are just Pawns. This means a link gun cannot heal a block.

Do we think it is a requirement that links should be able to heal blocks?

If so, I could probably modify the EngineerLink to do it. But I am not convinced we should.

Thoughts?
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Szlat wrote:
But I am not convinced we should. 

Ditto

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
 
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Development Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Go to: