[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Key Bindings  XML
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Development Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Author Message
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

Step by Step Guide to get DruidsRPGcvs running.

1) Put the DruidsRPGcvs folder and all files under the UT2004 folder.

2) Edit the System UT2004.ini file, and replace the two references to DruidsRPG200 to DruidsRPGcvs (ServerPackages and EditPackages)

3) Edit the DruidsRPGcvs\Classes files, and change all occurrences of DruidsRPG200 to DruidsRPGcvs (in DruidsRPGKeysMut.uc)

4) Compile the DruidsRPGcvs class. I use
Code:
 del DruidsRPGcvs.u
 ucc make
 ucc dumpint DruidsRPGcvs.u
 ucc exportcache DruidsRPGcvs.u


5) Should now have DruidsRPGcvs.u, a DruidsRPGcvs.ucl (with 4 lines for 3 mutators and scorefix), and a DruidsRPGcvs.int containing all the text messages.

6) Edit the .int file, and add the following lines at the top
Code:
 [Public]
 Object=(Class=Class,MetaClass=Engine.Mutator,Name=DruidsRPGcvs.DruidsRPGKeysMut,Description="Adds ability to directly select artifacts with keys")
 Object=(Class=class,MetaClass=Xinterface.GUIUserKeyBinding,Name=DruidsRPGcvs.DruidsRPGKeyBinding)


7) Edit the UT2004RPG.ini, and change all references to DruidsRPG200 to DruidsRPGcvs

8 ) Add a section to the UT2004RPG.ini file as follows
Code:
 [DruidsRPGcvs.DruidsRPGKeysInteraction]
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectTriple",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGcvs.DruidArtifactTripleDamage')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectGlobe",ArtifactClass=Class'UT2004RPG.ArtifactInvulnerability')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectMWM",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGcvs.DruidArtifactMakeMagicWeapon')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectDouble",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGcvs.DruidDoubleModifier')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectMax",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGcvs.DruidMaxModifier')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectPlusOne",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGcvs.DruidPlusOneModifier')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectBolt",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactLightningBolt')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectRepulsion",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactRepulsion')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectFreezeBomb",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactFreezeBomb')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectPoisonBlast",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactPoisonBlast')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectMegaBlast",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactMegaBlast')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectHealingBlast",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactHealingBlast')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectMedic",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGcvs.ArtifactMakeSuperHealer')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectFlight",ArtifactClass=Class'UT2004RPG.ArtifactFlight')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectMagnet",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGcvs.DruidArtifactSpider')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectTeleport",ArtifactClass=Class'UT2004RPG.ArtifactTeleport')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectBeam",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactLightningBeam')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectRod",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGcvs.DruidArtifactLightningRod')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectSphereInv",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactSphereInvulnerability')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectSphereHeal",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactSphereHealing')
 ArtifactKeyConfigs=(Alias="SelectSphereDamage",ArtifactClass=Class'DruidsRPGExperimental.ArtifactSphereDamage')


If you haven't got the DruidsRPGExperimental package, then omit those lines.

9) Start UT2004. Select Host Game and Invasion. Click on Mutators, and add the package "Key Bindings for RPG Artifacts".
(Note there should be only one of these. If you have more, you probably need to tidy up the DruidsRPGExperimental int and ucl files)
Start a Dedicated server.

10) Start a client UT2004 and join.

11) SelectGlobe typed into the console should now work. Also, if you go to Settings, Input, Configure Controls, the select artifact commands should be listed so you can set you key bindings.

Hope this helps.
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

I will get rid of the "DruidsRPG200." out of the code ( step 3 )and put it in the UT2004RPG.ini file. Sorry, should have done it earlier.
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Okay I think I may have been missing 3 - but then I thought I looked in there so I'm not sure ...

4 I was missing the second two lines.

I had already done 8 for sure - taking out the Experimental stuff as I'm not running that.

9 I can't *exactly* do, but I do make those specifications on the command line to start the server.

I'll refresh my CVS this afternoon and give it a go. I am still a bit concerned that the configuration information which is read in on the server needs to be replicated to the clients somehow - do you have a replication statement somewhere in your code that I've missed? In your test environ it sounds like you're running both your server and client on the same box ... you might be getting misleading results ...

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

It is based on the way Mysterial did the initial key binding for NextItem, ActivateItem etc., so it ought to work. But I agree it needs a thorough testing to ensure there are no compatibility or download issues. I have definitely had it working on multiple networked machines before, but the last few builds have only been tested on a single PC, running both the dedicated server and client.
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Szlat wrote:
It is based on the way Mysterial did the initial key binding for NextItem, ActivateItem etc., so it ought to work. But I agree it needs a thorough testing to ensure there are no compatibility or download issues. I have definitely had it working on multiple networked machines before, but the last few builds have only been tested on a single PC, running both the dedicated server and client. 

Okay - I build on my "client" (as that's the only place I have a ucc that will actually respond to "make") and scp everything up to the server. Configuration stuff is done on the server. So here's what I'll do to make sure it "should" work:

CVS update (getting current stuff)
Make (as per your instructions)
SCP up to the server
Delete from client the results of the ucc stuff

That way I should be forced to download the mod from the server, and also avoid having anything that a "normal" player wouldn't have.

I should have some info for you this afternoon ...

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

Much appreciated. Thanks
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

Ok, I did the closest I could to a proper test. I had a spare machine that had never seen UT2004, but couldn't run the graphics. I copied the whole of my UT2004 folder onto it, and set up the cd key.

I started a dedicated server on it, ran the client on my machine, and the key binding worked fine.

I then deleted the DruidsRPGcvs.u, .int and .ucl from my machine, and tried again. It downloaded the DruidsRPGcvs from the server into the cache, and the key binding still worked.

Not a total proof, but a good start.
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

One thing I did notice.

After I had deleted the files from my system directory, when I went into Settings/Input/Configure Controls the slots for key binding the artifacts were not displayed, although the bindings I already had worked.

So, I have something slightly wrong. It looks like it needs the top three lines in the .int file for the menu system to work. These lines are basically copied from Mysterials UT2004RPG.int - so I wonder how he gets the .int to download?
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

I think I found a tricky work around for that. If you look at the monster master interaction, and the monster points inv, I think you'll see how to foolify the interaction so you dont have to specify a package name.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

TheDruidXpawX wrote:
I think I found a tricky work around for that. If you look at the monster master interaction, and the monster points inv, I think you'll see how to foolify the interaction so you dont have to specify a package name. 
I can either try to do it the same way, or just specify the package name in the UT2004RPG.ini file. I presume that each time you change the DruidsRPG version, you do a global update of the UT2004RPG.ini file anyway.

Which would you prefer? I agree we don't want to edit the code each time.
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

It's probably better to do it the same way, since it's less error prone. I do a global search and replace, but you never know what might happen.

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

Ok will do. I had already recoded it to use the ini file, but I think you are right.
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

On my way home shortly - make sure you adjust the readme on CVS with any changes I'll need to know about before testing.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

I won't get chance to make any changes tonight, I'll do it tomorrow. So the best guide is as listed in the post earlier ( steps 1-11 ).

Druid or anyone - have you any suggestions as to how to get the .int file across to the clients?
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Okay, here's what I've figured out so far:

1. The line in DruidsRPGKeysMut.uc:
Code:
Inter = PC.Player.InteractionMaster.AddInteraction("DruidsRPGcvs.DruidsRPGKeysInteraction", PC.Player);

Requires the "DruidsRPGcvs." part for it to work at all; otherwise you get "command unknown" or some such error.

2. While "selectglobe" didn't result in an error with #1 above, it also did not switch to the globe until the client had, in a local UT2004RPG.ini, the configuration lines for [DruidsRPGcvs.DruidsRPGKeysInteraction]. Once the client's UT2004RPG.ini (which, btw, should not be required for normal play) had the lines for the artifacts, the "selectwhatever" would work. However, the default line ("selecttriple") would work.

I'm guessing there needs to be replication for the AvailableArtifacts array to the client. Mayhap I'll tustle with it later today, should the mood strike me.

EDIT: ACK NO! Can't use replication statements with Interaction. Mainly only Actors.

It appears at this point that, for this to work, you won't be able to make it server side configurable. You'll have to include (like, "manually") all the ArtifactKeyConfigs in the mod.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
 
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Development Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Go to: