[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Critical Error?  XML
Forum Index -> UT2004 DisastrousConsequences.com
Author Message
JamesIX

Killing Spree

Joined: 03/13/2005 13:49:56
Messages: 42
Offline

The past 2 days I've geen getting thise error after I play for a few minutes then UT craches and I can't play anymore:

UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2004-09-07_17.17]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: GenuineIntel Unknown processor @ 3195 MHz with 1022MB RAM
Video: 256MB DDR ATI Radeon 9800 XT (637

General protection fault!

History: KBodyGetActor <- BodyGetDoubleRate <- KBuildPartitions <- KWorldStepSafeTime <- KTickLevelKarma <- TickAllActors <- ULevel::Tick <- (NetMode=3) <- TickLevel <- UGameEngine::Tick <- Level Face Classic <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop <- FMallocWindows::Free <- FMallocWindows::Realloc <- 676F4C57 0 FArray <- FArray::Realloc <- 0*2 <- FMallocWindows::Free


Anyone ever got this or know how to fix it?

JamesIX

"I wish to wish the wish you wish to wish, but if you wish the wish the witch wishes, I won't wish the wish you wish to wish"
Cazius

Killing Spree

Joined: 07/10/2005 21:19:20
Messages: 93
Location: cheesehead territory
Offline

I've gotten similar errors before. I can't really say what causes it (sometimes it came from server crashes). My first idea is make sure you have the up-to-date video drivers. If nothing else works, you may have luck reinstalling UT.
Ghorkvos

Killing Spree

Joined: 08/05/2005 12:32:36
Messages: 53
Location: Charlotte, NC
Offline

I suggest searching "general protection fault", considering that error type is not restricted to UT, some sites may have advice on what you can do to fix the error

I found this site when I searched http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000224.htm
how to fix a general protection fault

Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster...
and if you gaze into the Abyss, the Abyss gazes also into you.
--Nietzche
http://skincity.beyondunreal.com/?section=models&action=show_infos&id=487
[Email] aim icon
cplmac

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 21:10:38
Messages: 1464
Location: chicago burbs
Offline

Judging by what was in the general fault you posted I would definately say it's something with UT. But that's sadly all I can tell you, sorry to waste your time.

good, bad, I'm the guy with the gun.
Ghorkvos

Killing Spree

Joined: 08/05/2005 12:32:36
Messages: 53
Location: Charlotte, NC
Offline

Its an error having UT attempt to use a protected memory location, solution: free up memory (vram as well)

Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster...
and if you gaze into the Abyss, the Abyss gazes also into you.
--Nietzche
http://skincity.beyondunreal.com/?section=models&action=show_infos&id=487
[Email] aim icon
Sleepless_playa

Killing Spree
[Avatar]

Joined: 06/04/2005 20:35:52
Messages: 51
Location: Wellsville, Ohio
Offline

I also used to have this problem. What was causing mine was my memory. One of my 512mb ram cards was messed up. I removed it and now I never get an error.
[Email]
timeriver[TW]


[Avatar]
Joined: 11/08/2005 21:23:49
Messages: 6
Location: Taiwan
Offline

I had met this problem servel times,
and I found some reason about it :

1. computer is over heat
2. software problem(reinstall ut2k4)
3. driver
4. map problem(maybe need to redownload map)

Good luck !
disastrous



Joined: 08/19/2005 09:36:58
Messages: 22
Offline

GPFs can be tough to track down. I would start with updating your video card driver and making sure UT is patched.

If you have another video card you could use, I would try that, just to isolate the 9800 as the possible cause.

If that doesn't do it, reinstall UT.

If that's not it, pull one of your memory sticks and play on one. Repeat with the other.

I used to get that error when I installed an additional 512 megs of ram. During normal system use, that extra 512 wasn't used much. But when I played games and it did come into play, that's when it happened. Pulling it fixed it.
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

I'd test my memory first. There's a great bootable ISO that you can download, burn and run here: http://www.memtest.org/

This program will run and run, so after you have a "Pass: 1" or "Pass: 2" stop it.

From there, there's a "dxdiag" program on your computer that you can use some to test some of your video card.

How many watts is your power supply? Not having enough watts will sometimes cause catastorphes like unto this.

After that, I'd update my drivers, my bios, my DirectX, and my UT2004 to the latest patch level. Then if it still is crashing regularly I'd open it up and take out all cards, memory chips, the proc, disconnect all power connectors, and ATA/SATA/SCSI connections. Then I'd blow compressed air through the computer and over all the removed devices and then put them all back together again.

If it still fails, I'd reinstall your box.

Beyond that... well you're hozed

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
JamesIX

Killing Spree

Joined: 03/13/2005 13:49:56
Messages: 42
Offline


thanks ill try some of this. just crashed 4 times in the same map with the same error. getting really annoying. the thing is i sometimes go hours without the error so i'm thinking it is the memory thing.

thanks

JamesIX

"I wish to wish the wish you wish to wish, but if you wish the wish the witch wishes, I won't wish the wish you wish to wish"
FirstToDie



Joined: 11/14/2005 06:32:16
Messages: 5
Offline

James,
Another issue to consider is the powersupply.
I had a machine that started doing this and the power supply was the culprit.
If you have a spare PS you may want to try it.
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

I had a General Protection fault that was fixed by removing the shadow the hedghog skin, so if youve downloaded any maps mutators, skins ect I'd try to remove anything that you downloaded last.




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
JamesIX

Killing Spree

Joined: 03/13/2005 13:49:56
Messages: 42
Offline

Hi Guys, thanks for all the suggestions. I tried most of them. And nothing really seemed to work completely. Sometimes I could play for hours and yesterday I kept locking up during play constantly to where I couldn't play. Well, I finally got fed up and said I'm scratching everything in my computer and restornig it from scratch. And after 2 days of spending over 8 hours over the phone with Dell incompetents, I just was able to make a change myslef right now and get back on the net. Was supposed to be running a dignostics test that he said would take 9 hours. Anyhow, I think I fixed everything now. Earlier I was practically pulling my hair out and even went as far as browsing new computers on my laptop cause I was so fed up I wanted to buy a new computer. Well, I'm about to install UT right now and see what happens. I hope it works cause if it doesn't, I won't know how to react.

later
JamesIX



"I wish to wish the wish you wish to wish, but if you wish the wish the witch wishes, I won't wish the wish you wish to wish"
 
Forum Index -> UT2004 DisastrousConsequences.com
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7 © JForum Team