[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Using UT2004 64 bit version...  XML
Forum Index -> Banter
Author Message
edomingox

Dominating

Joined: 05/22/2005 16:57:45
Messages: 247
Offline

I just upgraded my OS to the 64 bit version for my AMD 64 4000 and when trying to run the 64 bit .exe of UT2004, I just get the splash screen and then it disappears. The program never runs. Anyone else have that problem?

Also, shouldn't there be a selection for 64 bit color resolution when changing the display settings?

My character skin -
http://skincity.beyondunreal.com/?section=skins&action=show_infos&id=1513
or
http://www.utzone.de/include.php? path=content/download.php&contentid=4280
http://friends.GameFly.com/r/5c9eec123614102a919d
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

Do you have a 64 bit OS?




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

edomingox wrote:
I just upgraded my OS to the 64 bit version for my AMD 64 4000  


He said he had a 64 bit OS.

Is there a log file generated when you run the 64 bit UT2004.exe file?
Maybe it tells you something you need to know.
edomingox

Dominating

Joined: 05/22/2005 16:57:45
Messages: 247
Offline

i haven't looked for a log yet. I'll have to check it out when i get home.

i also installed farcry 64 bit but it all looks the same as the 32 bit and i notice that in the resolution settings that all the resolutions show x32. i would think that with the 64 bit, it would show x64 by the resolution. the game gives the indication that it IS 64 bit because it runs without the DVD.

i also notice that in the display settings for windows it still shows highest color resolution being 32. i wonder if it is suppose to show 64.

also, in case anyone was wondering, yes i have updated my video and sound drivers for the 64 bit versions.

My character skin -
http://skincity.beyondunreal.com/?section=skins&action=show_infos&id=1513
or
http://www.utzone.de/include.php? path=content/download.php&contentid=4280
http://friends.GameFly.com/r/5c9eec123614102a919d
edomingox

Dominating

Joined: 05/22/2005 16:57:45
Messages: 247
Offline

You know what i haven't tried? i feel dumb now.

I haven't tried patching the installed version to 3355. I just assumed the 64 patch WAS a patch to 3355 since the zip file has 3355 in the file name.

I'll try patching the game first and then transferring the 64 bit patch to the directory and see how that works.

also, from talking with a friend, it sounds like the 64 bit has nothing to do with color resolution but just the communication between cpu and OS. This 64 bit stuff is still new to me.

now i'm here at work and really anxious to get home. oh well, just 6 more hours to go.

My character skin -
http://skincity.beyondunreal.com/?section=skins&action=show_infos&id=1513
or
http://www.utzone.de/include.php? path=content/download.php&contentid=4280
http://friends.GameFly.com/r/5c9eec123614102a919d
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

My guess is that the core engine files are designed to run differently on 64 bit but they havent gone so far as to completely redo the graphic engine.

The readme for UT2004-64bit says it uses Direct3D v9 instead of v8 like the 32 bit version does, but I bet it doesnt look much different. After all its the CPU that gets changed to 64 bit from 32 bit, not really the graphics chip.
emetakleze

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/02/2005 18:15:15
Messages: 1241
Location: north east, ny.
Offline

I would say the only differance you might see is some better fps if your grafics card can utilize the new 64 bit pipeline.

****"All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain."**** -Batty

****On a hot summer night would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?****

***Though I cannot corrupt that which is by nature already corrupt, I can and do change the nature of the corruption***

IM:atvnj at hotmail.com
[Email] [MSN]
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

I think the best way to use the 64 bit version would be for servers. Clients probably would benefit very little from it at this point.

Im hoping UT2007 comes with 64 bit CPU and SLI graphics support right out of the box.
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1945
Offline

I'm confused. You installed Windows XP 64bit?

If so, this has nothing to do with color. It has everything to do with how much RAM can be referenced in one call to the processor.

You may see some performance gains, however I didn't know there was a 64bit client side UT2004 binary...

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
NeedMoreNinjas



Joined: 09/23/2005 18:57:33
Messages: 24
Offline

http://www.techspot.com/news/18969-ut2004-64bit-client-available.html
Apparently there is, very recent stuff though.
chankie



Joined: 07/18/2005 22:51:43
Messages: 21
Offline

I've run it on 64-bit Linux, and once had the problem you're describing, but I can't remember how I fixed it. I think I just removed it and reinstalled the whole thing. I think there was something about incompatability between some of the UT2004 system files in 32-bit vs. 64-bit. But who knows.
disastrous



Joined: 08/19/2005 09:36:58
Messages: 22
Offline

edomingox wrote:
You know what i haven't tried? i feel dumb now.

I haven't tried patching the installed version to 3355. I just assumed the 64 patch WAS a patch to 3355 since the zip file has 3355 in the file name.

I'll try patching the game first and then transferring the 64 bit patch to the directory and see how that works.

also, from talking with a friend, it sounds like the 64 bit has nothing to do with color resolution but just the communication between cpu and OS. This 64 bit stuff is still new to me.

now i'm here at work and really anxious to get home. oh well, just 6 more hours to go. 


It's funny since I work in IT but I can see how someone could easily be confused by all of it. Yeah, in terms of the CPU, they're not referring to colors.

The confusion comes because those common numbers are all powers of 2, whether they're referring to color depth, address space, etc.

64 bit color (2 to the 64 power) would be 18,446,744,073,709,551,616 colors. Many shades of grey for a titan's rock...
Llachior

Rampage
[Avatar]

Joined: 05/09/2005 14:11:39
Messages: 155
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Offline

Just a reminder for those of you with x64 bit processors and possibly running a 64bit OS, that this is out there...

http://files.filefront.com/ut2004+win64+3369/;4431923;;/fileinfo.html
aim icon
 
Forum Index -> Banter
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7 © JForum Team