Author |
Message |
![[Post New]](/dcforum/templates/default/images/icon_minipost_new.gif) 08/14/2008 15:59:27
|
greg11
Wicked Sick!
Joined: 02/10/2008 20:00:40
Messages: 526
Location: Hood River, OR
Offline
|
Is there a chance we can have more custom keybind commands like SelectShieldBlast...etc?
As an engineer having a SelectDefSent and SelectBlock keybind would be handy.
I think these two would be sufficient since I can make an alias to to select the other constructions:
Code:
Aliases[37]=(Command="SelectDefSent | InventoryNext | InventoryNext",Alias="SelectSent")
I could use the SelectShieldBlast, but picking up an artifact ruins the order.
I was spoiled as an engineer because my engineer gun is always the linkgun, so binding it is no problem (my two side buttons are trans and link)
When I play a medic, I forget that I can't just switch to my medic gun.
would it be possible to make a SelectMedicGun bind?
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/dcforum/templates/default/images/icon_minipost_new.gif) 08/14/2008 17:56:29
|
Szlat
Wicked Sick!
Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline
|
greg11 wrote:
Is there a chance we can have more custom keybind commands like SelectShieldBlast...etc?
As an engineer having a SelectDefSent and SelectBlock keybind would be handy.
I am not against that, but it might be a bit more complicated.
I have tried to ensure those that you need in a hurry - like shieldblast - are there.
My initial thoughts were that if you are building something, then you ought to have the time to be able to scroll through the artifacts, and it wouldn't be something you did in the heat of a battle. However, I can see how quickly spawning a def sentinel could be a life saver.
However, there are two considerations:
if I do it for engineers, then MonsterMasters will want the same for their pets. And yes, summoning a titan could be a life saver.
The code at the moment just searches for the selected class e.g. SelectTriple searches for artifact DruidArtifactTripleDamage. All of the sentinels share the same class DruidSentinelSummon. Likewise for all the block, vehicle and turret artifacts. So rather than finding the exact one you wanted, it would find the first one it came across - and that would change depending on where it started. So, I would have to change the code to start checking more specific areas to determine which DruidSentinelSummon it was. And since the whole idea is that the list of summonable things is configurable, and can be called whatever the server admin wants, that may not be trivial
So, considering these things, and since Engineers are still perceived as being too powerful, I am not sure it is worth it.
greg11 wrote:
I was spoiled as an engineer because my engineer gun is always the linkgun, so binding it is no problem (my two side buttons are trans and link)
When I play a medic, I forget that I can't just switch to my medic gun.
would it be possible to make a SelectMedicGun bind?
I think other people know a lot more about key binding commands than I do. But I don't think so. You should be able to remember what weapon you have made your medic weapon, so you could use the normal selectweapon commands. However, you will get problems on the keys with shared weapons - press it and instead of getting your medic minelayer you get the bio - oops.
In theory, you could write code which kept doing NextWeapon until the current weapon was of type RW_SuperHealer. However, since the key interaction code is executed clientside, and it takes a while for the server to tell it of the changes caused by the NextWeapon command, it is not as easy as it seems. So you would need to work out how many NextWeapons you need to issue based on the current weapon - assuming of course that all the information you need is replicated clientside.
In the short term, you could always bind it to SelectMedic | ActivateItem. Then you will be holding your medic weapon
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/dcforum/templates/default/images/icon_minipost_new.gif) 08/14/2008 22:37:47
|
Trooper
Godlike
![[Avatar]](/dcforum/images/avatar/b706835de79a2b4e80506f582af3676a.jpg)
Joined: 05/17/2008 15:32:06
Messages: 367
Location: t3h interwebz
Offline
|
it can be done.... I do it all the time. see http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/2672.page about that
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/dcforum/templates/default/images/icon_minipost_new.gif) 08/14/2008 23:48:07
|
greg11
Wicked Sick!
Joined: 02/10/2008 20:00:40
Messages: 526
Location: Hood River, OR
Offline
|
Szlat wrote:
I am not against that, but it might be a bit more complicated.
...
I see the issue, and I think I may have found a work around with what we have now...I will have to test it out though.
In the mean time: it looks like adding SelectKillAllVehicles (turrets, sents, and pets) to the list wouldnt be a problem.
I could find a handy use for that. I could make a keybind to kill my lightning sent and select def sent in a hurry (its like 10 keypresses right now...very frustrating when you are surrounded by titans)
Same goes for medics, they can kill their monsters and summon a titan or 3 brutes...or what ever medics do these days (I only have 4 monster points right now)
The problem that I was seeing is that the order of my artifacts get unpredictable when I pickup an artifact...but while writing this I realized that I was thinking that sheild blast was at the beginning of my artifact list when it is most likely at the end.
Trooper wrote:
it can be done.... I do it all the time. see http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/2672.page about that
Trooper, can you quote what you are referring to? Or are you just posting this response on any post about keybinds?
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/dcforum/templates/default/images/icon_minipost_new.gif) 08/15/2008 01:19:05
|
Szlat
Wicked Sick!
Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline
|
greg11 wrote:
The problem that I was seeing is that the order of my artifacts get unpredictable when I pickup an artifact...but while writing this I realized that I was thinking that sheild blast was at the beginning of my artifact list when it is most likely at the end.
Assuming you bought LoadedEngineer before ShieldHealing then the ShieldBlast artifact should be after all the Kill artifacts, and any artifacts you pick up should come after the ShieldBlast.
However, when you level and get new artifacts, I am not sure where they get added (fixed obviously on next respawn).
So it sounds like you ought to be able to use the SelectShieldBlast for what you want?
greg11 wrote:
Trooper wrote:
it can be done.... I do it all the time. see http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/2672.page about that
Trooper, can you quote what you are referring to? Or are you just posting this response on any post about keybinds?
Must be this part of it
Szlat wrote:
Tawn wrote:
Are there keybinds for engineer constructions?
No
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/dcforum/templates/default/images/icon_minipost_new.gif) 08/15/2008 02:48:56
|
greg11
Wicked Sick!
Joined: 02/10/2008 20:00:40
Messages: 526
Location: Hood River, OR
Offline
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/dcforum/templates/default/images/icon_minipost_new.gif) 08/15/2008 07:42:23
|
Trooper
Godlike
![[Avatar]](/dcforum/images/avatar/b706835de79a2b4e80506f582af3676a.jpg)
Joined: 05/17/2008 15:32:06
Messages: 367
Location: t3h interwebz
Offline
|
that topic talks about binds for artifacts such as sheild blast, healing blast, and other artifacts like globe, rod, bolt, beam, etc
|
|
 |
|
|
|