[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Engineer balance  XML
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Development
Author Message
Szlat

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
Messages: 2124
Location: UK
Offline

Engineers are scoring too high as low level players. I have made the following changes in cvs:

  • LoadedEngineer now costs 3-17 points per level instead of 2-16
  • Shield Regen dropped by one point per level, so now only 4 points per level, to compensate for the above change
  • You need to be of level 4 times the level of LoadedEngineer you want to buy. So you cannot buy Loaded Engineer level 10 until your player is level 40
  • The maximum number of sentinels per Engineer is now limited to 1. In time this will change to be adjusted according to the player level - so the higher the level the more you can buy. But that can come later

    These should slow down the Engineers a bit.
  • Moof

    Wicked Sick!
    [Avatar]
    Joined: 06/24/2006 19:42:44
    Messages: 433
    Location: College Park, MD
    Offline

    #3 will be the biggest (and best) change for balance.

    Moof, Scholar of Ni

    Moof (W); Dr. Moof (M); Engimoof (E); Moofgineer (E beta)
    [Yahoo!] aim icon [ICQ]
    Szlat

    Wicked Sick!

    Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
    Messages: 2124
    Location: UK
    Offline

    Also adjusted ini file again. Increased slightly the recovery times for the sentinels, changed link turrets to 14 points, goliaths to 12, and spread the other stuff out inbetween.
    Szlat

    Wicked Sick!

    Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
    Messages: 2124
    Location: UK
    Offline

    Maximum limits for number of things that can spawned by Engineers has changed. Instead of the old

    Code:
     [DruidsRPGcvs.EngineerPointsInv]
     MaxTurrets=1
     MaxVehicles=2
     MaxSentinels=1
     MaxBuildings=15
     
    we now have
    Code:
     [DruidsRPGcvs.EngineerPointsInv]
     TurretAvailability=(Number=1,Level=30)
     SentinelAvailability=(Number=1,Level=15)
     SentinelAvailability=(Number=2,Level=50)
     VehicleAvailability=(Number=1,Level=20)
     VehicleAvailability=(Number=2,Level=40)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=1,Level=4)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=2,Level=8)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=3,Level=12)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=4,Level=16)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=5,Level=20)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=6,Level=24)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=7,Level=28)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=8,Level=32)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=9,Level=36)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=10,Level=40)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=11,Level=45)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=12,Level=50)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=13,Level=55)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=14,Level=60)
     BuildingAvailability=(Number=15,Level=70)
     
    This says you have
  • no turrets to level 29, then 1 for level 30 upwards.
  • no sentinels to level 14, then 1 from levels 15 to level 49, then 2 from level 50.
  • no vehicles to level 19, then 1 from levels 20 to level 39, then 2 from level 40.
  • no blocks to level 3, then 1 block to level 7, then 2 blocks to level 11, .....

    Note that in the RPG.ini in cvs I have left the old Max... lines in for backwards compatibility. Once the new version is up and running, they can be removed.
  • Moof

    Wicked Sick!
    [Avatar]
    Joined: 06/24/2006 19:42:44
    Messages: 433
    Location: College Park, MD
    Offline

    Obviously, we'll need testing, but at first blush I'd say that's a bit too harsh. More control is clearly better, however, so we'll see!

    Moof, Scholar of Ni

    Moof (W); Dr. Moof (M); Engimoof (E); Moofgineer (E beta)
    [Yahoo!] aim icon [ICQ]
    Szlat

    Wicked Sick!

    Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
    Messages: 2124
    Location: UK
    Offline

    Had a bug yesterday on a test system, which may not be related to these changes, but I'll post it here anyway - before Dru rolls it out.
    The points under each artifact are supposed to be red if you can't summon it and green if you can. On this occassion, all the summoning artifacts were always red - but it just seemed to be a color display thing. The summoning itself behaved correctly.
    I will look into it as soon as I can.
    Szlat

    Wicked Sick!

    Joined: 05/18/2005 18:32:41
    Messages: 2124
    Location: UK
    Offline

    Szlat wrote:
    ...The points under each artifact are supposed to be red if you can't summon it and green if you can. On this occassion, all the summoning artifacts were always red - but it just seemed to be a color display thing. ... 
    Ok, its fixed in cvs now.
     
    Forum Index -> Druids RPG Development
    Go to: