[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Medic Halos(crosses)  XML
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Go to Page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next 
Author Message
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

Going to try something this weekend but I'll post roughly what I'll try here.

Code for healthpack emmiter
Code:
class MedicCross extends Emitter;
 Begin Object Class=Emitter Name=Emitter1
     Begin Object Class=MeshEmitter Name=MeshEmitter3
         StaticMesh=StaticMesh'E_Pickups.Health.MidHealth'
         UseParticleColor=True
         ColorScale(0)=(Color=(B=255,G=255,R=255,A=255))
         ColorScale(1)=(RelativeTime=1.000000,Color=(B=255,G=255,R=255,A=255))
         MaxParticles=8
       
         StartSizeRange=(X=(Min=0.100000,Max=0.100000),Y=(Min=0.100000,Max=0.100000),Z=(Min=0.100000,Max=0.100000))
         LifetimeRange=(Min=0.001000,Max=0.001000)
     End Object
     Emitters(0)=MeshEmitter'myLevel.MeshEmitter3'
 
    
     bNoDelete=False
    
    
    
    
    
     bUnlit=False
    
 End Object


Basically I'll try to find a good way to give this to a medic, I'll try to do it without changing the medic class, but if I dont find a way I'll probably make it so you can turn them off.

Any suggestions would help

Rough (untested) function to add to the medic
Code:
 var xEmitter cross;
 function StartEffect(xPawn P)
 {
     cross = Spawn(class'MedicCross', P,, P.Location, P.Rotation);
     
    P.AttachToBone(cross, 'bip0'); //bip0 is the parent bone of entire skeleton. any suggestions on placement?
 }
 
 


Would this be best as a mutator that had a menu to turn off / on clientside?
Or maybe as a cheap skill you could buy...

I think this ones simple enough I'll actually finish it




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
TheDruidXpawX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 18:32:13
Messages: 1946
Offline

Let me know if you can get it to work. If it ends up looking good, I might not mind adding it to the medic class... of course, then every class is going to need one... <sigh>

Skin download: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1189.page

The fundamental problem is this: The first word we learn as children is NO. From that point forward society teaches women that saying no isn't polite, and society teaches men to respect those who wont take no for an answer.

The world is what you make of it, my friend. If it doesn't fit, you make alterations. -- Stella, The Morning Star
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

No, because people don't care if you're a weapon master .

But Medics are the ones who are most often needed in dire situations. You don't have people who badly need a Magic Weapon Maker, because their life doesn't depend on it.

If I was in the big chair, I'd try giving each class its own skin or something... Maybe a semi-faint overlay? Bah.

My point is, Medics are the ones you need to be able to notice. No Medician pride took part in the creation of that statement.

By the way, good luck with it, Continuum.
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

I was thinking of looking into the radar situation this weekend myself - haven't had a chance to even glance at the code yet though to see if you can put something there other than a dot.

The other thing I was planning to look at was the Rifle and SG for LW 4/5 and Denial. Dru said it would take him 4 hours, which means it will probably take me 8.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
kyraeu

Rampage
[Avatar]

Joined: 08/20/2005 18:13:53
Messages: 110
Location: Edmonds, WA
Offline

I posted this before, but no one listened (and I don't expect any more to now) - it's already been done on another server that I used to play on.

The server is DAWGA (http://www.dawga.com) and the guy that coded it is bushbomb. Maybe send him a PM on the forums, or an e-mail, and he'll help ya out?

(EDIT - PS - I'm talking about the assault rifle and shield.)

My Players: Junkie: Kyraeu 85 -- Medic: Excuses 68 -- Weapon: Fyruse 40
Saving for: Ghost 1, 2, 3, then adren skills -- Ghost 3 -- max DB, then some HB
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

I listened - I just didn't find the info I was looking for.

I've posted to a different thread some HUD code that makes medics show up as blue crosses on radar.

As for the halo idea ... are we going to have problems with medics losing their crosses? I don't know if I'd so much go for this idea - it's one more thing (and could be a pretty big thing) cluttering up the view.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

The emmitter can be sized to anything you want fairly easily so clutter shouldnt be an issue, as for losing crosses I doubt it, the reason monsters do is that they have no bones back then they used a different way of animating...

I'll take a look at that HUD code though, maybe lvl 1 would be the halo (was even thinking of having it small enough to rotate around the bone the gun is attatched to) and lvl 2 would be the radar.



question::

Is there a array or vector (anything really) that holds all the players in the game that could be accessed when checking if someones class?

Havnt found anything myself but was thinking it would be in there somewhere.





Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

Continuum wrote:
... (was even thinking of having it small enough to rotate around the bone the gun is attatched to) ...

question::

Is there a array or vector (anything really) that holds all the players in the game that could be accessed when checking if someones class?

Havnt found anything myself but was thinking it would be in there somewhere. 

Rotating around the gun would be cool ... I just had this vision of sizable blue crosses floating over players' heads. If you get something like this working, Dru could remove the texture from the medic weapons completely and just use the halo as an identifier.

Now, as to your question ...

In the back of my mind I've been aware as to the differences in information a player's client has vs the server. I just was ignoring that little voice when I attempted to do the radar thing. I basically did the loop query for the skill, and left it at that. Thing is, the radar is all client based, and the skill information is kept strictly on the server (even, to a large extent, the client-player's own skills). So the trick is getting the information from the server to the client (for all players), or making it queryable by the client (which, understandably, isn't normally something you'd want to do in a "secure" atmosphere). Anyone have any ideas?

In my case, I would be happy if I could figure out a way that a player's client could be aware (and directly query) what weapons other players are holding (and change the radar blip accordingly). But really I don't think that kind of information is imparted to individual clients either.

I might dig through some of Mysterial's code - the "See Player Levels" button may hold a clue or two.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

I'll spend a little time seeing if I can come up with a way to create a serverside list of players + their classes but if that doesnt work I guess there are couple options...

1. Attach to the pawn in the medic class or extend it then attatch..

2. Attach it to the medic weapon class or an extension of it..

Both of these would have to be part of the class or a skill purchased by that class... don't see a way it would work as a skill purchased by non medics to see the medics but medics do get xp for healing so maybe its not completly off if it didnt cost much.




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
[GO]staticx



Joined: 01/22/2006 13:02:38
Messages: 25
Offline

BotFodder wrote:
In my case, I would be happy if I could figure out a way that a player's client could be aware (and directly query) what weapons other players are holding (and change the radar blip accordingly). But really I don't think that kind of information is imparted to individual clients either. 


Should we really be concerned with what weapon the medic is holding? If a player can find a medic by the cross on the radar, the medic should switch to his medic weapon to heal the player. I like to use other weapons I might have when battling the monsters, but I would still like other players that need medical assistance to find me.

----------------------------
-(DC)staticx-med

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.ubuntu.com/files/countdown/display.js"></script>
[Yahoo!]
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

GO-staticx wrote:
Should we really be concerned with what weapon the medic is holding? If a player can find a medic by the cross on the radar, the medic should switch to his medic weapon to heal the player. I like to use other weapons I might have when battling the monsters, but I would still like other players that need medical assistance to find me. 

What you've missed is that the "cross on the radar" thing isn't working on a dedicated server situation. What it requires is some way of getting the client to figure out something about the other players that identifies them as a medic. So far, *none* of the information that would do it (skill list, weapon wielded, nothing) is replicated to other clients.

Your client is barely given information about you most of the time.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Haha!

Code:
function ServerRequestPlayerLevels()
 {
 	local Controller C;
 	local Inventory Inv;
 	local RPGStatsInv StatsInv;
 
 	if (RPGMut == None || Level.Game.bGameRestarted)
 		return;
 
 	for (C = Level.ControllerList; C != None; C = C.NextController)
 	{
 		if (C.bIsPlayer)
 		{
 			for (Inv = C.Inventory; Inv != None; Inv = Inv.Inventory)
 			{
 				StatsInv = RPGStatsInv(Inv);
 				if (StatsInv != None)
 					ClientSendPlayerLevel(StatsInv.DataObject.Name$": "$StatsInv.DataObject.Level);
 			}
 		}
 	}
 }


Inside RPGStatsInv, referred to by LevelsClick() inside RPGStatsMenu. Modifying that code, you should be able to produce a function that grabs every players class. Level.ControllerList is the key!

If you don't mind, please compliment me. I don't want to seem egotistical, but I don't get a 'Good job, thanks!' too often around here .
Grizzled_Imposter

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/20/2006 15:59:35
Messages: 713
Offline

Then I will thank you in the style of my choice

Look at KohanX everbody, Lookie what he did!

Good Boy!

Core 2 DUO @ 4.1Ghz Grizzled_AM AM 43
Nvidia 9800 1g Grizzled_EMT. MM 85
4gb mem Grizzled_LW WM 87
Grizzled_EN EN 64
A drop of knowledge is more powerful than a sea of force~ unknown
[Email]
BotFodder

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 01/13/2006 15:23:41
Messages: 1239
Location: Florida
Offline

KohanX wrote:
Haha!

(some code)

Inside RPGStatsInv, referred to by LevelsClick() inside RPGStatsMenu. Modifying that code, you should be able to produce a function that grabs every players class. Level.ControllerList is the key!

If you don't mind, please compliment me. I don't want to seem egotistical, but I don't get a 'Good job, thanks!' too often around here

It is definitely a step in the right direction, and something I was going to look for when I got over my original failure. You've saved me some work.

However, I'd want to understand exactly what's going on with "ClientSendPlayerLevel", too. This *looks* like the "code POV" here is that SRPL is actually executed on the server (hence, Level.ControllerList existing only on the server in a "dedicated" situation), with CSPL the function that "sends" the string to the client to be displayed. If any of these thoughts are correct, all the client is getting from the server is a string, and depending on CSPL, may not have much choice beyond simply displaying it.

Then you have to think about *why* this data is:

- Only sent in string form, and not just object wise (or RPGStatsInv wholesale) to the client
- Why it requires the user to click on a specific button to trigger

But yes, this was a good thing to find, and may help. Thanks! Just don't get your hopes up too high, as this is probably the middle point to a whole lot of other stuff.

I will take a look at it probably this weekend (though mind you I think my valiant attempts at the SG/AR thing, and the original failed attempt at this, have already blown two days of play). The idea that this triggers now in simple terms is:

If I can make an array of names (just strings of who has "Loaded Medic") and get them from the server to the client (mind you, this would have to happen regularly rather than just from a button click), and then if the client has player name information (I mean geeze they should have at least that) in some format that I can compare to that array, we might be good to go. The only other concern that comes up is the possibility of this dumping more data to the client potentially slowing those on anemic connections.

I use the Futurama Prof. Farnsworth Skin: http://www.disastrousconsequences.com/dcforum/posts/list/1595.page
WM: (DC)BotFodder 170
MM: (DC)BotDoctor 141
AM: (DC)BotBooster 147
http://ericdives.com/ - My DC Newbie FAQ: http://tinyurl.com/lz229
Twitter: http://twitter.com/ericdives
[WWW] aim icon [MSN]
Continuum

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 03/09/2005 05:20:36
Messages: 479
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Offline

The snippet ooks promising, I was also going to look at how scores and the f3 stats get to the clients...

I'll try to at least get a working version of the attatch to working then maybe we can combine and make something that returns players and classes that would work for both, also thinking down the road to being able to do such things to other support type classes (engineers ect)...

Thinking the ability would send a string or array of strings to another class which would on tick recieve the players & classes from the server that way it could be added to easily youd just need to create a new ability for each future class of player.




Current WIP:
Skins:
[Email]
 
Forum Index -> Druids RPG Go to Page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next 
Go to: