[Logo]
 
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
New Booster Combos  XML
Forum Index -> UnrealScript, Coding, Mapping, and 3rd party Mods Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Author Message
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Are your boosters choppy? Example: 5,0,0,0,0,5,0,0,0,0,5,0... instead of 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1... in terms of when it heals? I prefer smooth damage if the damage is gradual. I'll take a search through the code to see where the original Combos are declared.

Please don't make it toggle-able. You might as well make it an artifact. If you eat food, can you toggle when you're hungry or not? No, you're just not hungry for a while, then you want more.

Okay, I found the code. It's in the defaultproperties of xPlayer.uc, where it says
Code:
     ComboNameList(0)="XGame.ComboSpeed"
      ComboNameList(1)="XGame.ComboBerserk"
      ComboNameList(2)="XGame.ComboDefensive"
      ComboNameList(3)="XGame.ComboInvis"


So, in your mutator, simply change ComboNameList[2] to "VortexMod.SuperBooster" instead of finding the next empty slot for it.

Update: I have tested it, and it works. Just base it off MutComboCrate.
[KitFox]

Dominating
[Avatar]

Joined: 11/25/2005 07:59:59
Messages: 232
Offline


Please don't make it toggle-able
 


I dont understand your position really..


You might as well make it an artifact
 


There is already enough artifacts. And for sure i dont want to change my active artifact to activate a booster wich already exist.....


If you eat food, can you toggle when you're hungry or not? No, you're just not hungry for a while, then you want more.
 


huh? Lets retake your example and make the right assumption:
If you eat food, then your stomach is full (full health), do you stop eating even if your plate still have food on it (adrenhaline left)?
yes you stop, unless you want to destroy your stomach.

Stopping a booster is just normal.

If you are not convinced Kohan, well, theres always this option:

-If possible, make the 'de-activate' feature an option admins can turn on or off
 


A lot of peolpe here asked for the Toggle. I really hope Druid will take Vortex's booster for DC. Nice work V0rTex btw!
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Oh that sucked, the message I put in to reply to yours just went poof, now I have to retype it O.o.

Allow me to define both Adrenaline Combo and Artifact.

Adrenaline Combo (uh-DREN-uh-lin COM-bow) n. - A special ability activated by pressing various cardinal direction keys in a predefined order in a set amount of time while having 100 (or maximum) Adrenaline, which activates the ability (which constantly drains Adrenaline), and the ability continues to function until Adrenaline reaches 0.

Artifact (AR-tih-fact) n. - An ancient object with special abilities that may be activated at any time, so long as the Adrenaline requirement(s) is/are met. While activated, artifacts drain Adrenaline constantly. Artifacts may or may not be turned off manually after activation, and may or may not be removed from the player's inventory upon reaching 0 Adrenaline and/or the remaining Adrenaline after subtraction of the required amount.

So as you can see, Artifacts are not the same thing as Adrenaline Combos. Now what you're asking for does the following:

Turn on through a series of button-presses. <<Combo
Turn off with the same. <<Artifact
Drains Adrenaline. <<Both
Does not require Max Adrenaline. <<Artifact
Turns off upon reaching 0 Adrenaline. <<Both

So as you can see, by merely changing the button that activates it, it is an Artifact, believe it or not.
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

KohanX wrote:
Are your boosters choppy? Example: 5,0,0,0,0,5,0,0,0,0,5,0... instead of 1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1,1... in terms of when it heals? 


Yes I use that same style of healing as the original booster. Honestly I dont know enough about programming languages to understand how to do something faster than the tick function. Quite frankly it doesn't matter with the Super Booster in use. It grants 15 health per tick which is plenty to keep you alive under normal circumstances assuming you weren't totally screwed before activating it in the first place.

I will look at the code in the xplayers.u file and see what else I can do.

As for toggle. I see and agree with both sides of the coin. It is nice not to waste adrenaline if your health is topped off and so is your shields. I agree that this is how an artifact works. But I also agree that there are enough artifacts (especially for an EM or MM) to deal with. I don't relish the thought of having to cycle through 12 arts just to get to a stupid booster artifact. Then after I activate it I want it to run for a while so I cycle back to my TD/Globe/MWM/whatever else. Then when I want to shut it off I have to cycle back (again) to the booster and turn it off. Are you starting to see why it would be annoying yet?

If I can make it an option that can be turned on or off by the admin, I will. I will probably make it OFF by default. Then whoever runs the server can determine what they want to do with it.

Before I can make toggling an option, I have to look at the base combo codes. So far I have been unable to make it toggle for the same reason you can't turn on Speed and then turn on Booster if you still have over 100 adrenaline. There is some piece of code that ignores key inputs for combos when one is already running. If I can't break this code then I can't make it toggle and all this debating is for nothing anyway.
[KitFox]

Dominating
[Avatar]

Joined: 11/25/2005 07:59:59
Messages: 232
Offline

Yeah, but i dont care about the definition.

RPG Have changed the game completelly.

We have a Combo that now dont drain 100 but 250 Adrhenaline for nothing.
V0rTex can adjust the combo to make it more user friendly, so lets do it!

I dont say the artifact is the same as a combo, i say the effect of a new artifact that does the same thing as a combo that already exists is completelly useless. (Let alone the uselessness of Berzerk combo)

Kohan, unless you find a way to bind a key for a direct Artifact activation/deactivation, i want my favorite artifact to be always the one "current" and dont want to rotate through 10 artifact to find the right one in the middle of 20 queens/titans.

I hope you understand what im trying to say.

EDIT: Lol V0rTex you said the same thing as me
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Is a tick one second? Just asking.

I've been toying with the idea of a new Artifact inventory system to deal with the increasing number of such. By clicking the middle mouse button, you switch to using artifacts instead of weapons, and you scroll through and use them just like weapons. This makes things more realistic (You can't really hold onto a weapon while holding on to an Artifact as well), and allows for pretty meshes to be used for the artifacts instead of the crude 2-Dimensional icons.
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

KohanX wrote:
Is a tick one second? Just asking.

 


A tick is slightly less than 1 second. Which is why if you get a stopwatch, you can see that although the code for most adrenaline combos says Duration = 30.0000 they usually only last about 27 seconds.
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Oh, well, anyway, you can set the timer to less than 1. So instead of saying SetTimer(1.0, WhateverThisVariableIs), you would say SetTimer(1.0/TimesPerSecond, SomeVariable), and set the rejuvenating (or damaging) effect to 1. I do this all the time, such as with my Booster Plus that I just made. No different than the original, but fixes the Above-Maxhealth bug, and made it smooth, as demonstrated. I dunno, it's just my opinion that it's better. Whatever. Do your thing.
320

Wicked Sick!

Joined: 10/11/2005 21:28:38
Messages: 605
Offline

While it would be *nice* to stop and start the combo, I think it would be overpowered on the DC server. It would allow players to top out everything while a wave is dying down and before the next ramps up.
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

Ah I see what you mean Kohan, in the Booster combo it says SetTimer(0.9) so that must be why the combo lasts about 27 seconds.

Good News: Thanks to Kohan I found the bits of code to clear up the issue with original booster.

Version 2 is packaged.
http://users.adelphia.net/~raubs/UpgradedBoosters2.zip

-Mutators are now grouped so you cant add both at the same time
-Mutators are re-coded so they replace the Booster combo and use the BBBB keys.

I will leave the toggle stuff for version 3 IF I can figure out how to make it work but it is a very low priority now. Sorry.

KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Yay! I helped out a dude who has a good reputation as a coder on the forums! Karma please .
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

Aww CRAP!

I just tested it in server mode. Apparently the trick with replacing a ComboNameList wont work on a server. The ordinary booster combo always remains untouched.

I will double check the code for CrateCombo to see if I missed something but I doubt it since I cut and pasted and just changed the names.

I think for server use I will have to make a v3 and make it use the other key code I started with.
KohanX

Godlike

Joined: 03/04/2006 13:40:23
Messages: 350
Offline

Any other mutators on the server?
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

Tested it with no other mutators at all.

Still didn't work.
I might try changing the code and giving it another go but I get the feeling you cant modify the combo list on a dedicated server.
v0rTeX

Wicked Sick!
[Avatar]

Joined: 12/19/2004 20:59:52
Messages: 562
Offline

Okay Im back to what I started with essentially.

Version 3 again makes it so it can be used on a server.
I took the opportunity to make it add itself to the ServerPackages= section.

http://users.adelphia.net/~raubs/NewBoosters3.zip
 
Forum Index -> UnrealScript, Coding, Mapping, and 3rd party Mods Go to Page: Previous  1, 2, 3 Next 
Go to: